First Night for Blogophilia 8.5


 

Staring intently into the mirror– this damn make- up has to be perfect– I painstakingly apply eye liner, mascara and lipstick, with a titch of blush for good measure. Finally a splash of Obsession, a gift from a former client, which is pretty funny, considering. I chuckle at the irony. It smells good enough to eat.

 

The butterflies in my stomach go into over-drive. Tonight I have to prove myself to my new employer, the most prestigious in her profession. Her business charges a huge fee to its clients and offers the best services. Once she’s satisfied with a new hire they also reap the rewards. Stellar nights are not included, but then I’m not seeking romance, just decent working conditions.

 

In order to calm down and relax, I light a cigarette, the last until I get home later, and sit on the couch. Ping. Glancing at the cell I read the text. It’s Rita, wishing me luck. We have a good relationship, always boosting each other. Burning bridges is not an option. My reply is sent right away. Time to finish getting ready. I ground the butt to death in the ashtray and realise my nerves are still jittery. Pacing is a stress reliever for me so back and forth across the small living room I march. This woman’s given me an opportunity to establish that I’m qualified. The seediness of my current position gets to me and I really need more, both money and sanity. Okay time to go. I slip into the black pumps, peer out the window to confirm the predicted rain has not materialized, which means my hair will stay in place and not frizz up. Good, my teeth don’t show any lipstick smudges. My hands smooth down the black silk dress, what there is of it. Nicest dress I’ve ever owned. Another perk. I wonder if I have to return it if I don’t make the grade?

 

If I don’t get this job I don’t know what I’ll do.

 

I lock the door behind me.

 

 

 

 

written for

 

Blogophilia week 8.5 – “Stellar Nights”

Bonus Points:

(Hard, 2pts): mention a type of perfume

(Easy, 1pt): include burning bridges

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Blogophilia, Fiction, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to First Night for Blogophilia 8.5

  1. Liam says:

    no prob job in the bag. ;)

  2. Chuck says:

    I’d say “break a leg” but maybe that would be the wrong venue. A little zen to focus that nervous energy??

  3. Lindsay says:

    Wonder what kind of job she’s applying for

  4. Irene says:

    A prostitute?

  5. Quite gripping really… I guessed towards the end what the job might be… and man I’ve heard they make GOOD money!
    I’m sick of being poor….
    Sharonlee

  6. Marvin Martian says:

    Well presented! The tension and stress is tantamount when presenting one’s self for a new position. I went through this very same situation when I tried to switch from WB to Universal…
    Oh where was I? 8 points Earthling! :) (apologies for being late in noticing your blog, I am a bad, bad Martian!)

  7. Feathered Pen says:

    I think keeping the dress if she doesn’t make it would make her feel better. Sort of a distraction,hehhee.

  8. Great job of showing her tense nerves! Loved “titch” ;)

  9. LETA says:

    Humor me if you please … I wondered what kind of job she was applying for. I thought it was for call girl but then she said .. decent working conditions .. so that kind of put a twist in it. :)

    And then she’s being interviewed by a woman …… which makes her tense and nervous. So then it brought me back to my first thought. *grins*

Aw come on say something....

