The dentist for Blogophilia 9.5


It was Blue Monday and I had a dental appointment. I did not anticipate a happy journey.

As some of you may know, I had a dental appointment recently and took my acupuncturist along. I really hate the Novocain needle— don’t hate needles in general (obviously)— but do dislike that one for the after effects. I thought if I could do without I’d be happier. Turns out I didn’t need either the pain injection or the acupuncture, but try telling that to my dentist—who actually is a good guy but …  no Goldfinger.

I did not wish to suffer the Purple Haze which I feel after a pain shot or the Whiter Shade of Pale I look like.

I almost didn’t recognize my acunputurist when he showed up at the office. He wore a suit  all formal and everything. He usually wears baggy shorts. :D

My dentist’s office is not a White Room but all Colors of the Wind.

Aacupuncture produces better hallucinations. I see Yellow Submarines not a Black Cloud like I do at the dentist.

The dentist loves to chatter while he’s got all this stuff in my mouth so I can’t reply. He said he does understand but he didn’t.

 AUUUUUHHHHHH!!!

I don’t know why he couldn’t understand me:

 

otha gI  w otha g ant  otha ga dr otha g ink  otha gof w otha gatotha ger

 

Jon, my acupuncture guy said raise  the left toe for yes and the right for no. :) 

I tried to speak with metal objects in my mouth and a disgusting dental dam across half my face and thought of Pink Floyd:

 “There is no pain, you are receding.

A distant ship’s smoke on the horizon.

You are only coming through in waves.

Your lips move but I can’t hear what you’re sayin’.”

written for

Blogophilia week 9.5 – “A Happy Journey”

 Bonus Points:

(Hard, 2pts): mention 3 songs with a color in their title

(Easy, 1pt): quote Pink Floyd

Blue Monday by New Order

Goldfinger by Shirley Bassey

Purple Haze by Jimi Hendrix

Whiter Shade of Pale by Procol Harum

White Room by Cream

Yellow Submarine by the Beetles

Black Cloud by Morrissey

Colors of the Wind by Vanessa Williams

 

 

This entry was posted in Blogophilia, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The dentist for Blogophilia 9.5

  1. Chuck says:

    I actually like my dentist – it is that girl who “scales” my teeth before he comes in that gives me pain, literally

  2. Christopher Mitchell (Another Government Employee) says:

    Having just had a filling replaced, I understand. I always look like Dudley Moore from 10.

  3. Jenna Jaxon says:

    I dislike going to the dentist, but a necessary evil it is. Loved the song titles! You left out one of my faves–Blue Moon. :) Great post.

  4. Marvin Martian says:

    LOL about the dentist talking and you trying to answer! Been there… Enjoyed this!
    8 points Earthling! :)

  5. Lynn DeVrieze says:

    Hello! I think this is my first time reading anything on wordpress. I’ve been to an acupuncturist, but I’ve always wanted to try it!

  6. Feathered Pen says:

    Hahaha! How about bringing a mini whiteboard to write your thoughts next time :) You made me laugh today Sue .

  7. Wow, you took an acupuncturist to the dentist ~ I’ve never heard of that! Having left Florida after 24 years with the same wonderful dentist, I am now faced with having to get a new dentist (and all new doctors)…. which I am NOT looking forward to. I never really had fears of the dentist, but now doctors is a different story. :(

    PS – Love love love the “Comfortably Numb” PF lines you used.

  8. J.C. Martin says:

    LOL! What a fun challenge! Love the comics you included with it!

  9. trev says:

    I think I commented here.. or somewhere Sue… but heck lets do it again OK?…
    I laughed out loud so much reading your sounds while your mouth was full of dentist machinery… ahahahahha… I’m still chuckling while I’m typing this…lol… and as for the pictures you chose … they are hilarious .. I love the one where Stan hits a primary pressure point… ahahahha…
    I know how you trust your acupuncturist and how taking him along to the dentist seems normal to you…lol.. but I have another way of ensuring minimal pain… first you need a male dentist … and then just before he starts his procedure, you reach down and cup his balls and say… “we’er not going to hurt each other are we?”… lol… works every time girl… ahahha … I loved this blog Sue… you have made me laugh so much at a time when I’m not really too happy at the moment.. so thank you so much for a great blog and a brilliant laugh… just what the doctor ordered girl… xxx

  10. Great story – I can’t tell if you’re pulling my leg or not. If it’s true then I’d like to meet you apunc guy.

  11. LETA says:

    LOL! I’d say you pretty much described us all when we go to the dentist. I can think of one dentist that I didn’t mind going to. I literally felt no pain AT ALL … seriously. I don’t know how he did it, but I never had a problem going to him. :)

  12. bluerose says:

    LOL! loved your interpretation of dentist office speak ;)

Aw come on say something....

