How They Met Blogophilia 8.4


Finally, the story you’ve been clamoring for: the first meeting between the Devil’s Mistress and her soon to be lover where he explains about himself and his employment.

The Devil’s Mistress ended with her and this mystery man going for coffee.

What’s that? How did we meet? One day while walking down a quiet residential street in my neighbourhood a small incident caught my attention. I noticed a car swerve and run into a hydro pole. I whipped out my cell to call 911 when I noticed a glimmer of light close to the vehicle. I  squinched up my eyes hoping to discern what I had seen. I turned my head and quickly turned it back as I could not believe my eyes. Granted I have poor vision but not that poor. I saw a man, a very good looking man, in his 30s, and well dressed. At the same time I observed a blip of light that seemed to emanate from the driver of the car. The blip disappeared as soon as it began and the fine looking fellow started to saunter off. At that moment he looked across and saw me watching. Now he did the double take as he realized  I had clearly seen him. He walked over to me. I still had my cell out with my finger ready to press the 9 key. I couldn’t tear my eyes off him; he sure was hot looking. “Hi there. Did you see that accident?” “Yes”, and blurted out the rest, “and I saw you kinda whisper to the driver and a blip of a light came out of the car and vanished.” Oh for Pete’s sake (whomever Pete was) I could not believe I said that! He smiled a Johnny Depp sort of grin, “I’m surprised you saw that. Most people are blind to me and to what transpired there.” Dumbfounded I could not reply. He noticed my state of confusion, and, offered a suggestion, “why don’t you call 911 but block your number, so that this man is taken care of and let me buy you a coffee and we can discuss what you think you saw.”

******

They walked over to the Starbucks across the street. She ordered a blueberry muffin and a latte, he ordered just a large black coffee of their strongest blend.

As they settled themselves at the table she stared at him, noting again his good looks, just short or pretty, beautifully coifed thick brown hair, worn rather long, and immense big brown eyes she knew could take her to places she never dreamed existed, “Ok tell me about that glimmer of light I saw, and I hope you’re not going to try and say it was my imagination.” She looked at him with eyebrows raised expectantly.  

He, in turn, gazed at her with her big curly blonde hair and  cute petite figure and deep blue eyes that he knew would take him to places he’s always longed for but would never admit, “You won’t believe me but I’ll tell you anyway, and no, it wasn’t your imagination.”         

He shrugged, and with a guilty expression as if to say ‘too bad I’ll deal with it later’ deliberately turned off his cell phone

She nibbled at her muffin, sipped her coffee and listened as he told his story.

He told her he was 250 years old and when at home in Hell was married, but since no divorce existed in Hell, that’s why they call it Hell, after all,  he could not get out of the marriage.

He worked for the Devil as part of a mid management team extracting souls from the newly departed in order to fulfill contracts negotiated by the client with Mr.. D, as he called his boss, for a benefit during their life in exchange for selling their soul.

He worked long hours in a booming business with no overtime. No overtime, either, in Hell

“The light you saw was the soul leaving the driver, one of our clients, and me sending it on to Mr.. D.”

She believed him. When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever is left, no matter how unbelievable, must be the truth

Even just sitting and listening to him tell her this impossible tale; she could not deny the chemistry between them and the sparks flying across the table.

“I know you’re not the kind of girl who gets involved with married men. I’m sure you’ve had boyfriends though. And while I’m technically married it’s not like I have to spend a lot of time with her. And though I do work many hours, it’s really no different than if your boyfriend was a plumber or something where work took up a great deal of time. There are slow periods too. And, I know you won’t believe me, but when I give my word on something, unless it involves work, I keep it.”

“I think it would be worth your while to give me a chance.”

She sighed, and recognized that she was hooked and hoped she would not regret her decision (she never did). She had always vowed never, never give in to dating a married man. She was not sure if this really fit the definition of ‘married’. She had always been a rather down to earth sort of girl, always looking at the practical and safe routes in her life. Well, maybe the time had come to take a risk. Her life had been in a rut lately and she had been feeling bored and dissatisfied

The day outside was cold and blustery, the coffee shop warm and cozy; she felt content. While she mulled over what he had told her, she could hear the sounds around her; the couple arguing at the next table, the wait staff joking with the customers and the swoosh of the espresso machine in the corner. The place was full of the smells of coffee and freshly baked pastries; all of which added to her feeling of well being

“There are advantages, you know, to having a 250 year old lover. I know all the history and you majored in history at university” – she started at this bit of truth, how did he know that? “And I know good jokes. Really it would be no different than if your lover was a very busy plumber or something.”

“Ok tell me an old joke from your youth”. Her eyes twinkled teasingly She did not know what to expect and waited for his reply. This is the joke her told her:

A new servant being engaged was told by the mistress that the previous maid was discharged owing to the discovery of a follower in the kitchen. The new maid stated that she never had followers, as she  was engaged.

 

A few evenings later, the mistress, having smelt tobacco smoke, went into the kitchen and found a soldier hiding in the coal cellar.The maid denied all knowledge of the soldier, and said that it must be one left by the last maid.

 

He smiled at her to gauge her response. She could not help it. She burst out laughing – so loudly that the couple at the next table cut their argument short to turn and stare at her.

Satisfied with their first meeting, he stood up. “I have to get to work. And find an explanation for why I turned the cell off. I’ll call you.” And he did. And, as they say, the rest is history.

She later learned that he finds out when he has a new assignment through a text message. The age of technology is not limited to the mortal. She also discovered, much to her chagrin, that even when they are totally distracted with each other, if that phone of his pings, he better snap to, check it out, get his pants on and hit the road. Often, it turned out, that ping came at the most inconvenient times and she just wanted to shake a fist at it

When she would tell her girl friends about her lover, leaving out what he did, she would often say he was good for her soul. The irony did not escape her

She certainly was not going to leave him. The sex was hot and he was never boring

You can’t help who you fall in love with. What’s a girl to do?

And it’s not like he can get a divorce you know, no divorce in Hell, that’s why it’s called Hell after all.

Being with her lover took her out of the rut she had been languishing in, put a spring in her step, a sparkle to her eyes and brought back sexy to her life

Written for:

Blogophilia 8.4 Topic: “Never, Never Give In”            
Bonus Points:

(Hard, 2pts): Incorporate a Justin Bieber song

 

(Easy, 1pt): Include “Bringing Back sexy”

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Blogophilia, Fiction, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to How They Met Blogophilia 8.4

  1. Another great read…

  2. Irene Melgoza says:

    Love it! Witty and dark at the same time. : ) I hope that you will continue the story. I am hooked.

  3. Lindsay says:

    I remember a few of the lines from Six Sentence Sunday. I’m glad you gave us more to answer questions some of us had.

    • sassyspeaks says:

      Did not realise you would read this – you are a crossover, not a cross dresser (maybe you are ) friend from SSS – this write will be incorporated eventually, not this week, into SSS – just pretend you did not see this lol I’d been meaning to write this up – and will write more – and the prompts fit so here it is

      thanks for reading – your remarks are always welcome and appreciated

  4. tyler says:

    250 years old and drop dead good looking – where do I sign up?

  5. Marvin Martian says:

    8 points Earthling! 🙂
    ah to be old and young at the same time

  6. Thanks for indubitably using permissible grammar. Roughly all sites were absolute gibberish. Marvelous website & writing skills. You my friend have Talent! I just StumbledUpon this. Not bad. I’ll give it a thumbs up.

  7. Lisa Kessler says:

    Just figures you have to date the Devil to get your sexy back…. LOL

    Oh well… 🙂

    Great job Sue!!!

    Lisa 🙂

  8. crazypjs says:

    Brilliantly done! You have an amazing mind, I loved this!!!

  9. DJ Myke says:

    Tons of depth in these characters, Sue. Talk about instant chemistry…

    Very interesting…

  10. joaniethewriter says:

    This was a wonderful segment to your story! I love your in depth descriptions. Bringing sexy back has its just rewards…..can’t wait o read more

  11. Yay! I am hacking along at mine but don’t think i am going to get it done in time (Think the deadline may be up already, in fact. 😦 )

    sending more in email 😀

  12. leta says:

    I’m getting caught up on my reading in Blogophilia. This was most refreshing. Can’t wait to read more on these two… just something intriguing about a 250-year old lover! 🙂

  13. bluerose says:

    he’s quite a character! love how you made his age seem real inspite of his youthful appearence.

    • sassyspeaks says:

      thank you so much – interesting comment – a small detail but if you said I did it well then i am learning – as always thanks you so much and so lovely to see you

Aw come on say something....

