Lost in the Forest


The contest

in 300 words or less

  •  show not tell 
  •  you’re hungry and scared
  • it’s dusk
  • you think someone is following you
  • 5 senses
  • include: shimmer, saccadic, substance and salt

Where is it? The path should be right here. The trees surround me and I haven’t seen a squirrel or heard a bird twitter in quite a while. Oh, oh is that an owl I hear?  The ground appears so shadowed and I can barely make out the little hills. It must be later than I think.  Except for the piece of gingerbread grandmother gave me, I haven’t eaten anything of substance all day; that would explain my sick stomach and the salty taste in my mouth.  Grandmother and I laughed a lot; and chatted, just enjoying each other’s company. We walked in her aromatic garden admiring the early spring flowers in the bright sunlight. When I left her, my heart felt like a feather and I remember singing a little tune as I walked from her cottage. My heart does not feel light now; it is pounding like a big kettle drum.  If I don’t find my way home soon I’ll have to sleep here, away from warmth and food. Wait! Is that a pitter patter of steps close by? My eyes’ saccadic movements search for what I could swear I heard. My little basket which I thought empty must be carrying bags of flour, judging by its weight.   Whoops, I stumbled and almost tripped on my red cloak; good thing I didn’t fall. I see a shimmering stone up ahead. I will sit on that and rest, and think about what to do. 

Something tapped me on the shoulder. “Hello, little girl.” A wolf stood before me “Are you lost?”

 

This entry was posted in Fiction, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Lost in the Forest

  1. Lindsay says:

    This sounds like fun

  2. I think you did good..

  3. J.C. Martin says:

    I like it better now! 🙂

  4. heh-heh! nice!!! 😀

  5. bluerose says:

    love the contrast!

Aw come on say something....

