The Parking Garage Blogophilia 16.4


My parents didn’t like Bob. Well, not that they didn’t like him. He was just the wrong religion in their mind and they told me not to see him anymore. When parents tell their kids not to see someone it means they didn’t read the parenting manual. Section 32(f)(1) clearly states: Prohibiting a child’s action serves as a greater incentive for the child to perform that action. For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction. 

When we wanted to see each other, we had to sneak around, adding even more drama to the usual turmoil of a teen romance.

Thereafter, that night was dubbed: The Parking Garage Incident when spoken about with girl friends and Bob.

“Where are you going? It’s after dinner and you have homework.” My mother watched as I put on my coat and boots.

“Carol (my best friend) just called. She has an urgent problem she  needs help with and it can’t be done over the phone,” I replied, in what I hoped was a casual tone; my insides felt like Jell-O.

“OK but be home by ten.”  My mother, exasperated, gave in.

My friends knew about Bob, and as good friends will, were always ready and willing to cover my back; in exchange for all the gritty details, of course.

It was a dark and stormy night. No, not really, but it was dark, since it was mid-February.

Naturally, he couldn’t pick me up at my front door. I walked over to the next block where we met and got into the car. We debated where to go for some privacy, and  decided on the top of a mall’s deserted parking garage.

During the drive to our destination, Bob related a funny incident from his English class.

“We’re studying some play writer, Tyler Perry. The teacher was writing out some of his quotes. One quote is: ‘You will always fine jealous people. They’re the ones promoting you.’ and she had it up on the white board. One of the girls blurted out that the word the teacher wrote was ‘fine’ not ‘find’. The teacher did a double take, checked a book, and said: ‘Guess he misquoted himself. It would be great if we could  ‘fine’ jealous people.”

We both laughed at this incident.

Bob parked the car and turned to me. Terribly pleased with himself, he said, “A new time has begun.”  I just looked at him. Sometimes he said the strangest things.

The paring garage was a mistake.

It seemed like a good idea at first.

It was a small car. I forget what make; does not really matter. We shucked our coats in the front seat and crawled into the back. The car was so small that even with two short people just sitting in the back seat it would be cramped. Imagine two teenagers ‘making out’ in that space.

“Ouch! My head banged into the window.”

“Hey watch it! Your elbow almost poked my eye out!”

Tumbling into the seat, arms and legs every which way, my sweater pushed up with his sweaty hands, we commenced to kiss, fondle, touch and feel. He tasted of  spicy aftershave and smelled of Ivory soap.

We didn’t miss the heat in the car as our body heat steamed up the windows.

We were teenagers. We knew we wouldn’t be caught. Teenagers know everything.

We had been parked for all of 37 ½ minutes and the going was hot and heavy when a bright light startled us. No, it wasn’t aliens. It was security guards.

Two older gentlemen, flashlights in hand, approached the vehicle.

“What are you doing there?” One of the officers asked.

 “Let’s see some ID,” demanded the second guard.

Bob got out of the car, settling his clothing at the same time. “We were just talking. We just wanted a quiet place to talk.” I heard him stammer.

OMG. I never heard Bob so nervous. We got caught! I can’t believe it! What will my parents say??          

While Bob was trying to explain to one of the guards, the other  man flashed his light into the back seat highlighting me; but by then I had my clothing mostly in place.

Somehow we got away with just a warning.

I imagine the security guards, once they realised what was going on in the car, were amused. We could hear them chuckling as they walked back to their office.

We drove away to another parking lot; this one fully lit and crowded. We had a smoke and tried to calm down. We broke out into a steady stream of  nervous giggles  at the whole affair (pun intended).We  could relax as we got away safely.

Bob chuckled and speculated aloud, “Oh I bet those guys are remembering what it was like when they were our age.”

“They’re probably trading ‘almost caught’ stories right now.”

At least our parents will never know, I thought. With a light heart I sailed into the house. The parental units were still watching their programs and barely acknowledged my entrance.

Good thing they didn’t notice my sweater all askew. Well, I could have just said I was trying on some of Carol’s clothes, but they didn’t notice, didn’t ask.

I got undressed, brushed my teeth and got into bed.  With a huge sigh of relief, and  still giggling at the evening’s events, I snuggled under my blankets. Oh! Would I ever have a story to tell my girlfriends the next day at school. Still smiling I softly fell asleep.

Bob and I continued our secret assignations until we graduated from high school and went our separate way to  university. We did casually keep in touch through e mail and whenever either of us mentioned, or heard mention of, a parking garage we would howl with laughter; people never got the joke. But we did.

 

 

 

 

Written for:

Blogophilia 16.4 Topic: “A New Time Has Begun

 Bonus Points:

(Hard, 2pts): use a quote from the playwriter Tyler Perry

(Easy, 1pt): mention an oxymoron

 

This entry was posted in Blogophilia, Fiction, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The Parking Garage Blogophilia 16.4

  1. Great story laughed through it

  2. Lindsay says:

    Loved the story. Interesting use of Newton’s Third Law in the first paragraph

    • sassyspeaks says:

      Nice comment kiddo – you are one of the people who proofed the damn thing orignally lol – and been using it for SSS as you know – my prof wanted a different ending so I used two endings – talk to you later

  3. hahahaha! still a good one! 😀

  4. tyler says:

    You have me smiling and remembering. I think we all have that moment of “getting caught ” in our youth. Happy to say I (we) also got away with just a warning.

  5. Marvin Martian says:

    8 Points Earthling! 🙂 Martains do not have to worry about being caught in a situation like that…since there is only one martian the situation could not possibly arise…much to my dismay 😦

  6. Spirit Free says:

    Such a wonderful memory you shared…..hugs♥

  7. DJ Myke says:

    You know, you have opened up a big can of worms here, with anyone reading this being able to relate to it. You sure got my attention.

    Fun tale here. I enjoyed it very much, even as I was cringing at the thought things were not going to work out as well as they did. *whew*

  8. bluerose says:

    You got away with it! I got caught! guess I just wasn’t sneaky enough ;] LOL

  9. Eccentricity says:

    Ah young love, teenage love iz teh srs bsns. lol! 😉

    • sassyspeaks says:

      I have no idea what you said!

      • Darlene says:

        LOL…She said “Ah young love, teenage love is the serious business”.

        I love this Sue. My memory flew back to 1965 in the wink of the eye. No, not going to tell. I recently learned my high school and subsequent, brief, fiance died 20 years ago from agent orange. I no longer laugh about getting caught by a police officer Prom Night, 1965… And let go by a chuckling policeman…

  10. Darlene says:

    I’m good, just taking a little break from most online activity while I watch the Casey Anthony trial. That happened where I live, so I’ve been hooked since July 2008. Not that I think it will be over with this trial. I have a feeling this is something that will go on for a long, long time. I hope you are well.

Aw come on say something....

