Six Sentence Sunday July 17


Yea! It’s Sunday and time for Six Sentence Sunday

Every week participants post six sentences from something they are writing – or have written. It’s a lot of fun and really a great way to meet new writers! And I’ve met some terrific people. Thank you !

Be sure to check out the other great participants and thanks so much for stopping by!

OK the “hell” with the devil’s mistress for the moment. This WIP came to me with characters intact one morning – I have some idea of where it’s going but right now it’s mostly my muse who has been doing the writing.

Set-up: The stories start in the 50s. Six teens, seemingly very different, meet weekly and keep in touch with each other their entire lives. They must have something in common.

The group congregated as they always did on Saturday mornings, weather permitting, at the old school yard.

Inclement conditions found them at the local delicatessen– deli, where the owner didn’t mind hearing their laughter and raised voices.

Business was slow at this old fashioned deli so it wasn’t like customers were turned away due to the group’s presence.

The group shared their news.

It wasn’t great news; nor was it horrid news.

It was just news.

 

 Sorry for lack of action/dialogue but I’m just getting to know these kids.

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Fiction, Six Sentence, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Six Sentence Sunday July 17

  1. Alix says:

    Oh I’m so intrigued, I love the 50s, and the idea the stories travelling over time. I hope you and your muse are really enjoying the development of this story.

  2. Marie Dees says:

    Keep moving forward. It’ll be interesting to see where this one takes you.

  3. Great start. Good feel for the diner.

  4. Sounds like an interesting start!

  5. Nice set up, gives a feel of a tight knit community xx and a sense of the 50s comes through clearly!

  6. jennajaxon says:

    Interesting premise. Can’t wait to see where this takes you. It’s such a blank slate right now it could go any number of routes, all equally facintaing. Great beginning six.

  7. I really like the premise. I can picture them together every year discussing thier changing lives. Wonder what unites them?

    • sassyspeaks says:

      Actually they keep in touch weekly – and what unites them is the big question for me as well. My muse knows but isn’t telling all right now – thank you very much

  8. Bree Younger says:

    Really like this setup. It has all kinds of possibilities.

  9. Lauri J Owen says:

    I wonder what brings them together. Are they related? Share a tragedy or trauma or significant slice of history? I’ll be back to find out!

  10. Sherry Gloag says:

    Great start, I want to know what the news was.

  11. Gem Sivad says:

    Good start. You have six people to play with and a period on the edge of huge changes for the kids to grow through. Great six set up!

  12. Lindsay says:

    Keep the story going. You’ve got a great story premise here

  13. Jc Martin says:

    Interesting set-up. Quite different from “Devil’s Mistress”. Don’t think you need the extra ‘deli’ after delicatessen, especially since it’s used again later. Most people would be aware of the contraction.

  14. Paula Martin says:

    Intriguing, I like the idea of a 50’s setting to start with. It’ll be interesting to see where you go with this.

  15. Zee Monodee says:

    Sounds like it’ll be an interesting story. Looking forward to more

  16. Xakara says:

    I look forward to getting to know more as you do! 🙂

    ~Xakara
    Dawn’s Early Light 6SS

  17. Jayel Kaye says:

    I think its a good six. You’ve got to get to know them, and this told me a lot.

  18. Lynne Murray says:

    Intriguing six, with a lot left to learn about the kids and the adults they will become!

  19. Great six – i remember this story, though I don;t remember the news part. Maybe just my bad memory, or is it new?

  20. I know what you mean about not knowing where it’s going, but just writing 🙂 I start writing when i get a glimpse of characters, but usually have no idea what the plot’s about… so I just write to find out 🙂 Good luck with the new WIP!

Aw come on say something....

