Six Sentence Sunday July 24


Yea! It’s Sunday and time for Six Sentence Sunday

Every week participants post six sentences from something they are writing – or have written. It’s a lot of fun and really a great way to meet new writers! And I’ve met some terrific people. Thank you !

Be sure to check out the other great participants and thanks so much for stopping by!

Last week I mentioned my muse’s new story line.

The stories start in the 50s. Six teens, seemingly very different, meet weekly and keep in touch with each other their entire lives. They must have something in common.

This week we meet  Joey, who is my personal favourite of the group, so far. This clip takes place away from the group. Each character starts with a line or two of a glimpse into their home life as they leave to go out to meet with friends

 

As he was leaving the house to meet his friends at the bar, he glanced at his parents; his father scrawled and passed out on the recliner, his mother flopped on the couch, her hand hanging off the edge, drool spotting her chin, unconscious.

“Watch my beer. I’ll be right back,” Joey told the bartender.

His thin frame ran through the dark bar and he sped out the front door.

“Hey Sue, here’s the quarter I owe you!”

He rolled the coin down the pavement to land at her feet not noticing the girl’s shocked look.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Fiction, Six Sentence, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Six Sentence Sunday July 24

  1. Lindsay says:

    Didn’t see that last line coming. Great surprise hook.

  2. J.C. Martin says:

    Interesting glimpse into Joey’s home life. Not a pleasant one, poor Joey!

  3. lizculver says:

    Interesting story idea – looking forward to learning more. I like the glimpse in to their home life then cutting to the scene.

  4. yes, I love Joey 😀

  5. I think its a great six!

  6. Gem Sivad says:

    Joey probably needs that quarter so rolling it to land at her feet has a lot of hidden significance. Sad, but great six!

  7. J.A. Beard says:

    Interesting technique. Good succinct way of defining their background.

  8. Bree Younger says:

    Great character building scene!

  9. Chrystalla says:

    Interesting premise of a story! 🙂

  10. I like the story idea – the friends remind me of the gang of kids in Stephen King’s It for some reason.

  11. An interesting way to introduce your characters. I’m curious to know why she was shocked.

  12. Lauri J Owen says:

    What a tough life for poor Joey! 😦

  13. jennajaxon says:

    I think it’s a great premise and an interesting and different technique. I can see Chantal’s reference to Stephen King’s It–those friends were tight! If this goes along those lines (minus the horror) you’ll have a wonderful set of characters your readers will love. Seems like Joey’s already tugging at heartstrings. Great six!

    • sassyspeaks says:

      ok – I’ll have to look that book up – yeah Joey is like that 😀 I’m just getting to know these people but I do know they will all be lovable in their own way.

  14. I wonder why she’s shocked? You’re making these characters very interesting! I want to learn more about them.

  15. …is he intentionally being insulting? I’m not quite sure, but I do want to know 😉

  16. Lynne Murray says:

    Interesting insights into Joey–with that home life, the bar might look pretty cozy. Intriguing six!

  17. bluerose says:

    Looking forward to finding out why she’s shocked. And, from what I read about Joey on one of your earlier posts, he is definitely an interesting character!

  18. Hmm, interesting. Would love to hear more about these two.

  19. Pingback: Six Sentence Sunday October 16 « sassyspeaks

Aw come on say something....

