Six Sentence Sunday August 28


Yea! It’s Sunday and time for Six Sentence Sunday

Every week participants post six sentences from something they are writing – or have written. It’s a lot of fun and really a great way to meet new writers! And I’ve met some terrific people. Thank you !

Be sure to check out the other great participants and thanks so much for stopping by!

Carrying on with my set of stories which start in the 50s. Six teens, seemingly very different, meet weekly and keep in touch with each other their entire lives. They must have something in common.

Each character starts with a line or two of a glimpse into their home life as they  leave to meet with friends. 

 

Carole is the last of my six characters for my WIP. Thank you all for your positive feedback on these snippets. If someone had told me last year that I would be writing character studies in six sentences, I would have asked them the colour of the sky in their world. 😀

Next week will be back to the Devil’s Mistress now that I’ve drafted another chapter. I will return to the WIP as time permits.

Her mother’s lips formed a narrow line of disapproval as Carole left the house.

“OK, ready to straighten those curls?”

David, her hair dresser, placed the cushion on the seat to raise her short figure up to reach the sink.

My mother cherishes my curls as her own personal property; she not only stifles me but my hair as well.

Carole leaned her head back into the basin.

“Do it.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Fiction, Six Sentence, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Six Sentence Sunday August 28

  1. Gem Sivad says:

    Uh-oh. Mom’s going to be mad–rebellion!

  2. Alix says:

    Fantastic voice and determination. Great six!

  3. Mom a little controlling, is she?

  4. J.C. Martin says:

    Go Carole! Straighten those curls!

  5. Controlling mom eh??! Great six! *G*!

    xx
    A.

  6. J.A. Beard says:

    What I continue to find interesting about these snippets is that all these characters seem so distinct. So, the multiple viewpoints really will bring something interesting to this story.

  7. Bree Younger says:

    Love her bid for independence!

  8. Aimee Laine says:

    And see, *I* always wanted my ‘curl’ to be straight. 🙂

  9. Vivien Dean says:

    Ha, definitely sounds like a sixteen-year-old. Thanks for sharing!

  10. jennajaxon says:

    Another great character sketch, Sue. Love the rebellion. And such a great way to display it. Great six!

  11. Oh, Mom’s gonna be mad! I hope she doesn’t regret straightening her hair, though. Sometimes, rebellion can backfire!

  12. Lynne Murray says:

    The first step in teen rebellion. That was definitely a more innocent time. The mom will be angry but she has no idea how much worse it could be! Great six!

  13. Meg Maguire says:

    Cool taste of characterization! Well done.

  14. Zee Monodee says:

    Oh my – this reminds me how my super-long hair was my mum’s pride and glory! She nearly had a heart attacks the day I came home with my hair snipped to shoulder-length!

    Love the character sketches – keep it up! 🙂

  15. Her step toward independence is so characteristic of a teen. Fun six!

  16. Nice way to get back at her mother 🙂 …just a thought, maybe ‘stifle’ isn’t the word you want? It makes me think ‘smother’, which makes me think of pressing something flat… which is the opposite of what the mother is doing in she wants Carole to keep the curls. Could there be a different word connected to how someone treats/sets curly hair?

  17. Oh not the curls!! Give them to me! I’ll take them!! LOL! great six! 😀

  18. bluerose says:

    LOL! When I was little, my mom would put rollers in my hair to make me look like Shirley Temple. When my mom wasn’t looking, I’d go brush them out. A few years later, this backfired on me. When curly hair came into style and I went to get my first perm, my mom told the hairdresser that my hair wouldn’t hold a curl. Aaaack! I walked out of there looking like I had stuck my finger in an electrical socket. Looking forward to reading what happens to Carole and her liberated locks. 🙂

  19. Pingback: Six Sentence Sunday October 16 « sassyspeaks

  20. Pingback: Six Sentence Sunday November 20 « sassyspeaks

Aw come on say something....

