Props, Prompts and pics for Blogophilia 35.4


“Hello my name is Tyler and I am a blogophiliac.”

 

The large group seated in the basement of Marvin’s spaceship replied, “Hello Tyler!”

 

“Welcome to the hebdomadal session of Blogophiliacs Anonymous  held every Monday at 7 P.M. EST. I see we have a smaller group than usual tonight. The bad  news is that quite a few have kicked their habit. The very bad news is that they are missed.”

 

“I thought I’d tell you something that happened to me recently.”— “Yeah sock it to me!” yelled Liam from the crowd.

 

 ”I had considered selling my green Miata.” The assembly shifted uncomfortably in their seats. “Myke said he’d buy it for Donna but would paint it red. I wasn’t so sure. That car’s essence is green.” Marvin started jumping up and down in his seat nodding his head  like a bobble head doll in agreement. “Anyway I started looking for other cars to replace it with.”

 

“I walked into this show room— Stephen or Ruggi told me about the place. Some foreign car sales site.”

  

“I sort of liked the lace, the leather and the gold but it seemed pretty fancy and I’m not a fancy kinda guy.”Tyler sort of  hopped from one foot to the other. The audience could see his nervousness.  “And it didn’t look like it would go very fast on small roads when a quick getaway was required. Happens frequently in my line of work as a character in a blogophilia submission. I hadn’t planned on telling anyone that I was thinking of getting rid of the Miata. I knew some of the blogophiliacs would not be happy about that as it would take away a widely used  prop  in their writing.”

Murmurs spread through the room like bees hovering around a rose.

 

“Then as fate  would have it, Sallon walked into the show room. I couldn’t believe my rotten luck. I saw her enter and tried to hide behind the manager of the place. She walked in and calmly looked around. I held my breath. It’s like she heard me through the walls.  She looked around with a frown as if trying to locate something or figure out why she was there.”

 

Tyler could almost feel David’s shifty eyes boring into him, even though David was not in attendance.

 

“Her eyes finally settled on the car. Then she spotted me ‘hiding’.  When she realised what I was contemplating. she freaked out.  She stood in the middle of the room and shrieked at the top of her lungs, like an old air raid siren.”

 

People were sitting on the edge of their seats with bated breath waiting to hear what happened.

 

You can’t have that. I won’t let you. That’s not a prop the blogophiliacs can easily use in their posts. If you get that car I’m gonna tell on you to Marvin. He will not allow it I tell you. That’s a secret you won’t be able to keep.”  She lowered her voice to a horrified whisper, “And Marvin might kick you out of the group.”

 

Shocked gasps floated around the basement.

 

“I know now that Sallon was just trying to protect me and that I should always put the group’s well being before my selfish desires.”

 

“So I had no choice. I kept my green Miata. It wouldn’t be fair to take away such a valuable prop from the group. Sallon was correct, as always.”

 

Cheers from the seated members.

 

Chris muttered just loudly enough to be heard. “Yeah very interesting.”  The group shhhed hm for his rudeness.

 

Tyler studied the faces in front of him.

 

“And who is that in the corner, sitting in the huge chair?”

 

“I’m Edith Ann from Laugh in. One of the prompts. We belong here as much as you writers,” her mouth twisted in scorn.

 

“And you madam, with the tattooed face? I’ve never seen you before.”

 

“I’m one of the pic guesses, and like prompt in the corner there,  I’ve every right to be here too.”

 

The meeting broke up shortly after Tyler’s confession. What else was there to say?

 

Blogophiliacs anonymous

 

written for

Blogophilia 35.4 Topic: “You Can’t Have That”

Bonus Points:

(Hard, 2pts): include a reference to the 60s series “Laugh In”

(Easy, 1pt): tattle on another Blogophiliac

This entry was posted in Blogophilia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Props, Prompts and pics for Blogophilia 35.4

  1. ha ha! another fun one! 🙂

    btw my bro loved the second car picture 😉

  2. Lindsay says:

    Love the Edith Ann tie-in. The first car is so-so but the VW bug is so totally awesome.

  3. Chuck says:

    Maybe I shouldn’t mention this – but the Green miata wasn’t mine; I thought it was my brothers and I “stole” back in season 1 week 38 for part 1 of the 6 or 7 part ramble.

    http://www.myspace.com/tylermyrth/blog/449776951

  4. Loved this Sassy cleverly written, give the gan hugs from me. Those car pics were a hoot

  5. That’s a pretty spiffy Miata if I say so myself!! Tyler would do good to hold on to it!!

    8 points, Earthling!! ;D

  6. Leta says:

    What an enjoyable read!! I love when you write about the Blogophiliacs. It’s amazing how the stories pop up every so often. I remember the Miata… Tyler’s adventures in it and the ever so popular David II 🙂

  7. Jos/Ruz says:

    Hahaha! David II ‘s comment cracked me up! I’ll take any of those cars as long as it’s full tank.Very creative way of handling the prompts this week.

  8. W00t!!!! I loved it…. I could picture this happening. The green Miata is too class…glad that Tyler reconsidered its sale. It just wouldn’t be the same Blogophilia without Tyler or the car. You never know when it will come in handy.

    Sorry I’ve been MIA lately Sue…. missed your writes, way too much traveling. Well done! HUGS

  9. Irene Melgoza says:

    hehe…love it!

  10. Jay says:

    Fun story! Blogophiliac stories are always fun to read!

  11. Sue says:

    Hey thanks Jay!

  12. joaniethewriter says:

    I do believe we all get a bit posessive about our prompts and the props we use! They are very handy to take out every once in a while! Great story this week!

Aw come on say something....

