Six Sentence Sunday October 30


Yea! It’s Sunday and time for Six Sentence Sunday

Every week participants post six sentences from something they are writing – or have written. It’s a lot of fun and really a great way to meet new writers! And I’ve met some terrific people. Thank you !

Be sure to check out the other great participants and thanks so much for stopping by!

Sorry if I misled any of you last week. Monday would be the start of the new school year and the six would not be returning. The first chapter shows what they are doing now that they are out of high school.

As we all know, minor characters in our stories will often stand over the “writer” and say, “Yes, well what about me? I have an interesting story to tell too, yah know.” And so here is Nate the proprietor of Nate’s Deli where the six young people meet.

At a concert last Sunday Nate came to me with his story and now I am compelled to include hm as more than just a minor character.

From my untitled WIP The stories start in the 50s. Six teens, seemingly very different, meet weekly and keep in touch with each other their entire lives. They must have something in common.

 

Those six young people became my family.

They started coming into the deli when they were in high school and for years I supported them, all through Joey’s problems, Gene’s and Carole’s secret meetings, José’s and Charles’ political life; it was me who made it possible for them to stay in touch with each other for all those years.

The deli didn’t get much business.

People said it was too old fashioned, eating habits changed and customers became fewer and fewer, but I kept it going for them.

After Esther died three years ago, no one was left who needed me.

These kids needed me and I came to need them as well.

 

 

 

.

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Fiction, Six Sentence, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Six Sentence Sunday October 30

  1. oh that is awesome!!!! It made me tear up at the end!! 😀

  2. jennajaxon says:

    I like Nate’s voice! Very different from the kids. He’s a good guy and I’m glad you’ve included him. Great six!

  3. Zee Monodee says:

    I think this is the most poignant POV you’ve written so far in this story! Very, very well done – Nate definitely deserves his spotlight too 🙂

  4. Sentimental and a little sad. It reminds me of adults that made an impression on my life as a child and teen. The world needs more Nates. Lovely 6.

  5. I love how he feels connected to the kids, now adults! A very insightful six! 🙂

  6. That’s indescribably touching for six sentences. Great job putting so much into so little. I really enjoyed it. I wonder if he’ll be able to keep the deli going? I hope so.

  7. Sue says:

    Thank you so much! It all works out 😀

  8. Excellent point-of-view! The deli owner sounds like a great character!

  9. Lynne Murray says:

    What a great character! An interesting perspective on the kids! Touching six!

  10. Paula Martin says:

    Great six, I love his concern for the kids, and how this has helped him too.

  11. J.A. Beard says:

    Good emotion here. I really feel it.

  12. bluerose says:

    great idea! I love how this story is evolving 😀

Aw come on say something....

