Six Sentence Sunday November 13


Yea! It’s Sunday and time for Six Sentence Sunday

Every week participants post six sentences from something they are writing – or have written. It’s a lot of fun and really a great way to meet new writers! And I’ve met some terrific people. Thank you !

Be sure to check out the other great participants and thanks so much for stopping by!

From my untitled WIP The stories start in the 50s. Six teens, seemingly very different, meet weekly and keep in touch with each other their entire lives. They must have something in common.

Last week we learned what Joey is doing now that he is no longer in school. This week it’s Gene’s turn.

 Gene shifted around in his seat trying to get more comfortable, putting down his fork, he said, “I was almost late myself since my shift ended at nine and I had to get all the way over here in an hour.”

As he reached for the salt, he noticed the group’s blank faces, “Oh right you don’t know that I got a job as an orderly at Community Hospital.  The pay’s not great but I like the people, especially the orderly in the next ward who’s friendly, helpful and cute. Of course some of the patients are cranky but they’re sick and scared so I try to be understanding. Even though they’re diseased I still treat them like people.”

Gene looked like a little boy, albeit a muscular one, in his white uniform with his hair tousled from running around the hospital.

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Fiction, Six Sentence, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Six Sentence Sunday November 13

  1. I got behind so I guess I am going to read backwards 😉

    I love the image of him in his white uniform looking like a little boy 🙂

  2. What a fab idea for a story! He sounds like a great guy. :c)

  3. jennajaxon says:

    It’s both cool and tortuous waiting each week to find out about these guys! Gene sounds like a really caring guy. And it never hurts to be cute! Great six, Sue!

  4. This is really really good! Nice job!

  5. Zee Monodee says:

    I love coming here each week to meet a new person in those characters. Great job, Sue. 🙂

  6. J.C. Martin says:

    Wouldn’t they notice his white uniform from the start? In any case, Gene’s job sounds interesting and fulfilling.

    • sassyspeaks says:

      They may have noticed. But they would not know what it meant and would never have asked. this group accepts but never questions unless the individual mentioins it. Thanks for keeping me on my toes.

  7. Yay for loving his job!

  8. Lynne Murray says:

    You’ve got a very diverse group of kids, and an intriguing situation!

  9. His dialogue and the description give me a great understanding of his character. Well done!

  10. Love the concept, felt you did a great job with creating a character I felt I knew immediately! Excellent excerpt!

  11. Paula Martin says:

    Sounds like an interesting guy. A good description that helps us get to know him.

  12. Great feel for this character in just six short sentences!

  13. Agreed–I get a great feel for his character in this. Nice six!

  14. bluerose says:

    his attitude about his job speaks volumes about his character. well done! 🙂

  15. Great details here. It’s awesome to see what about the six characters will be revealed each week. The image of his tousled hair is excellent. Great six.

  16. Awesome six! I look forward to seeing what you have for us next Sunday! Have a great week!

Aw come on say something....

