Dad for Blogophilia 41.4


Here we go again rushing to see Dad who at age 97 may not make his birthday in February. His goal was to die at age 100. We got a call on Friday that he was in hospital with pneumonia and on Sunday we went to see him. He lives in New York (where I was born) and plans took time to arrange.

When we got to the hospital he was gobbling down his lunch; these days an unusual sight to see him with a hearty appetite. He had perked up and wasn’t in the state we had anticipated. My cousin, who takes care of him at night, and his aide, Josie, were also there. He had not wanted me to visit but was pleased to see me and I was glad I had listened to another family member who encouraged me to visit.

Dad age 95

Unfortunately I had not brought my camera. His smile even through his frailness, still lights up a room and his friend in Holland would have appreciated the photo. The view from the hospital would have made for a nice shot as well – lovely spring (in December) weather, the flowers in the planters around the hospital still in bloom.

We went out for our own lunch. We picked a local deli, though not the type my six characters meet in, and I was amused that someone asked us to watch his bag at the next table. I guess New Yorkers still trust strangers.

We returned to the hospital and spent a couple of more hours but by then he was tired and told us to get out. He hadn’t seen Bernie, my husband, in a while (I usually visit on my own) and seemed pleased to see him. He liked Bernie’s shirt and wanted to know where he could get one. Not that he’s ever going to travel very far again. The next day he remembered some tomatoes I had brought him and which I totally forgot about, when I had visited after his open heart surgery at the age of 94.

Age 94, with me, before surgery

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The next morning we visited and were told he would be discharged. It surprised me that they were releasing him so soon but his lungs had cleared and that was the only reason he was in hospital, this time.

Before we had to leave to catch the flight  home, we spent a few hours to visit with him after he returned home and was comfortably ensconced in his big easy chair with feet resting on a foot stool and covered with a blanket. He is always cold. He said he probably would not see me again and we reminisced about the past like the time he ran out into the rain to fetch my parakeet, Chatter, who had flown the coop. He got her too. She lost a tail in the process but he did get her.

My Dad has lost his appetite for food which is pretty ironic since he used to be quite large and a gourmet He can still converse with some of you in your native (or adopted) languages. He speaks most languages but unfortunately did not pass down that ability to me. So Alba in Spanish, Ruggi in Dutch, Stephen in German he would be delighted to chat.

His friend in Holland who I mentioned above, he met playing bridge. He (not so much anymore) plays bridge on line with people all over the world. Mostly women as he liked the ladies (still does).

This quote of Adam Smith sums up Dad

What can be added to the happiness of a man who is in health, out of debt, and has a clear conscience?

And this was true for Dad until his health gave way.
 
And the question is will I see Dad again?*
 
 

Age 95 with family friend

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

with Josie his aide who he cannot do without

 
 

95th birthday with me

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

very quickly written for

Blogophilia 41.4 Topic: “Here We Go Again”

Bonus Points:

(Hard, 2pts): quote Adam Smith (the father of Economics)

(Easy, 1pt): use a word or phrase for a TV show without actually naming the show

*Paraphrase from the TV quiz show Jeopardy

This entry was posted in Blogophilia. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Dad for Blogophilia 41.4

  1. Lindsay says:

    I’m glad your Dad is doing so well. You all are in my prayers

  2. Jos/Ruz says:

    ((((((((((((((Sue))))))))))))))))))))

    You’ll be in my thoughts.

  3. Liam says:

    i hope u will.

  4. Touching write Sassy I do hope that you get to see him again, once they are gone it leaves a big gap that never is filed again trust me,as I lost both my parents now. It’s is good to sit and reminisce, as those things will keep him alive in your heart long after he is gone.Sending prayers for him and you

  5. bluerose says:

    I’m so glad you got to go see him. It sounds like you had a good talk reminiscing, and you’ll always treasure that. I do hope you get to see him again.

  6. Tyler says:

    Very touching, very happy you still have your Dad. Also really like the pics with you in them. But now I have to adjust my picture of you a bit – add the NY girl background into the image.

  7. Maybe.

    Always hard to tell when the journey will begin.

    And it sounds like he didn’t get cheated on this plane.

    I wish him well both here and in the next place.

  8. Irene Melgoza says:

    ((hugs)) I know what it’s like sweetheart…I lost my dad in November of 07. It’ s not easy watching as their health just gets worse and worse. I will keep him in my prayers.

  9. Leta says:

    I’m glad you went to see him. I hope you get to see him again. Soon. I pray that he’s comfortable in the last stretch and surrounded by people and things he loves.

    (((((Sassysue))))) ❤

  10. Well I’m glad he was discharged for the time being, I think, but the lack of appetite is never a good sign 😦 I’m glad you went to see him though and had some time so that you won’t regret it later. Hopefully there will be another chance to visit with him (he might make it to 100, you never know!) Also glad that you seem to have had a good visit 🙂

    Enjoyed the pics! 😀

  11. What a wonderfully personal post 🙂 And I’m so glad you went to see him.

    I hope for the best… it would be great if he made it to his 1000th birthday 🙂

  12. Michelle K says:

    Very nice pics of your dad and you! Now I know what you look like! 🙂 I’m glad you and your dad were reminiscing. They will be times to cherish.

  13. Marvin Martian says:

    8 points Earthling! 🙂
    Memories are made when we least expect it. Now I can visualize with whom I am speaking. Nice to meet you Sue! 🙂

  14. joaniethewriter says:

    I lost my dad 30 years ago this October. Every day you have him is a gift. I believe that no one knows when their last breath will be taken, I think our destiny is planned before we are born.

    I spend every Sunday in a nursing home and have come to appreciate the wisdom the old folks have. Some enjoy every day given to them, and others complain all the time., same as young folks.

    There are very few that sit and wait for thier last breath. I don’t think your father will sit and wait either. It sounds like as long as he is able to, he will keep himself busy.

    Whatever will be will be……..

  15. Zee Monodee says:

    Very touching and poignant post. I hope your dad keeps on with such good spirits – he sounds like a total trooper, an inspiration. I sincerely hope & pray you get to meet him again, and not just once. The love we have for a parent is something out of this world; I’m humbled when I see people keeping ties strong and fighting for them.

    And, it was so lovely to see you! Now I can finally put a face to the name (and you look great, btw *grin*)

    XOXO

  16. Pingback: Blue Eyed Daddy for Blogophilia 26.5 | sassyspeaks

Aw come on say something....

