Six Sentence Sunday January 15


Yea! It’s Sunday and time for Six Sentence Sunday

Every week participants post six sentences from something they are writing – or have written. It’s a lot of fun and really a great way to meet new writers!

And I’ve met some terrific people. Thank you !

Be sure to check out the other great participants and thanks so much for stopping by.

Continuing with the Devils Mistress.

A soul cannot remain in a deceased body. This story starts with the soul collector visiting his boss for a reprimand for losing a soul. If a soul is not released from a body it wanders aimlessly — a lost soul. And his boss is not paid. This section is how the soul was lost.

Last week people seemed confused by the fact that the soul was trapped in the client’s body. Mr.D collects souls due him. He did not receive this one.

 

“I accepted that the soul was lost. It was all her doing. I was furious.

You have never seen me that angry and I hope you never do.”

The harshness of his words caused me to cringe within his embrace.

He rubbed my back in reassurance that everything in our world was fine.

 

The Devil’s Mistress, a paranormal romance, is about an unlucky in love woman and a man who works in mid-management for the Devil. He’s the one who dispatches souls to his boss, Mr. D. She vows to restore her lover’s humanity and not lose him in the process. The story is told entirely from her point of view.

 

This entry was posted in Fiction, Six Sentence, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Six Sentence Sunday January 15

  1. Ruthie Knox says:

    I like the contrast between his furious words and his kind action!

  2. Alix Cameron says:

    I agree with Ruthie as well as the idea of their world contrasted with the world or worlds of others. Great six!

  3. Nice snippet this week 🙂

  4. jennajaxon says:

    Loved his reaction to her fear. And fear she should, if he ever got that angry with her. But i don’t think she’s going to do anything to piss him off. She might steal his heart, but not a soul. Excellent six!

  5. Gem Sivad says:

    Interesting twist on the devil and his “mid-management” help. I like his tender attitude with her at the same time he’s describing the “loss of a soul” and his anger.

  6. This makes me want to know more about their relationship. Intriguing 6!

  7. Interesting story concept. I want to know how it ends.

  8. Paula Martin says:

    Interesting world and interesting relationship between them too – intriguing six which make me want to find out more!

  9. Oh my, I have the terrible feeling she will see him angry one day! I think she’s strong enough to take it, though. Such an interesting story.

  10. I love that he’s scared her, but is holding her at the same time, even stroking her back as she cringes.

  11. I like how his anger is evident remembering the past, and yet, he is so tender with her. Great six! 🙂

  12. Guilie says:

    Interesting one, Sue… Definitely would like to know more about this concept of souls getting trapped in a body if they’re not “collected”–actually, I’d just like to know more about everything, period 😀

    Happy Sunday, and thanks for sharing!

  13. What an interesting premise! Am very intrigued with this story. Great six!

  14. J.C. Martin says:

    Echoing everyone else here, but loving the contrast between his retelling of his anger and his tenderness.

    And Sue, to answer your comment, ORACLE will be available in print. 🙂

  15. Totally intrigued by these six. Nice job!

  16. Lynne Murray says:

    I hate to say it, but I’ve got to–when a hero says, “never make me angry”–it sounds to me more like a red flag for a violent male than a turn on. He seems to be saying, “If you get me angry you deserve whatever I dish out.” Not promising for a relationship, particularly because once the hero says that, the reader is going to expect to see it.

  17. Cherie Marks says:

    Hmmm, loaded with danger. Great six!

  18. Interesting premise and six!

  19. Lindsay says:

    Such great opposites. His words vs his actions

  20. Zee Monodee says:

    Love the contrast between the cold anger at what happened in the past, and the way he reassures her here and now – that’s lovely play in her POV 🙂

  21. J.A. Beard says:

    For some oddly reason, I’m suddenly reminded of the end of The Godfather.

    “Don’t ever ask me about my business.” I don’t know quite why given that he was willing to talk about it, but the six just summoned that quote to me. 🙂

Aw come on say something....

