Six Sentence Sunday January 22


Yea! It’s Sunday and time for Six Sentence Sunday

Every week participants post six sentences from something they are writing – or have written. It’s a lot of fun and really a great way to meet new writers!

And I’ve met some terrific people. Thank you !

Be sure to check out the other great participants and thanks so much for stopping by.

Continuing with the Devils Mistress.

 

Okay— so what happened to Alicia the vampire when she murdered the soul collector’s client thus depriving Mr.D payment of his due?

 

 

 

“I used what today would be called a pager, though very different, to call for a demon messenger.  I told the imp to call my nearest team mate to assist me. I knew what the repercussions would be so I needed a witness, and my associate knew to bring the axe.

He arrived immediately while the vampire was still trying to clean herself up. Naturally, the corpse was a bloody mess.

 

Together he and I cut off her head; such a pretty head too.”

 

 

note: the repercussions would be a reprimand from his boss. His boss is Mr.D otherwise known as the devil.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Devil’s Mistress, a paranormal romance, is about an unlucky in love woman and a man who works in mid-management for the Devil. He’s the one who dispatches souls to his boss, Mr. D. She vows to restore her lover’s humanity and not lose him in the process. The story is told entirely from her point of view.

 

This entry was posted in Fiction, Six Sentence, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Six Sentence Sunday January 22

  1. Lindsay says:

    Don’t mess with Mr. D or his employees. Unless you want the axe

  2. Intense and humorous at the same time. A great six! 🙂

  3. Ruthie Knox says:

    Wonderfully impassive ending to the passage! I loved “my associate knew to bring the ax.” So matter-of-fact! Great six.

  4. Just another day at the office. Makes me want to know more. Intriguing six!

  5. Juli Hoffman says:

    Oh dear! I hate it when the vampires get the ax! Ouch! 🙂 Great six Sue!

  6. jennajaxon says:

    “My associate knew to bring the axe.” A sentence to make you sit up and take notice! And he tells her this so matter-of-factly! Got to love him! Great six as always, Sue. 🙂

  7. Dee Carney says:

    lol! Those vampires can be a messy lot. Nice six!

  8. Loved the line about the associate bringing the axe and the sort of off-handed comment about her losing her pretty head. Great six, Sue. 🙂

  9. Cate Masters says:

    “Such a pretty head too” – ha! Loving this.

  10. Sarah Grimm says:

    I’m with Cate on this one. My favorite line is “Such a pretty head, too.” Nicely done!

  11. I love how cold and gruesome this is!

  12. lol I’m kinda liking the matter of fact way the events are told. 🙂

  13. Gem Sivad says:

    Shows his comfort and trust in her. He’s relating this story so prosaically, like, honey, I just want you to know what I do for work… Great six!

  14. J.C. Martin says:

    Poor vampire. But I suppose it had to be done. Love the notion of bureaucracy in his line of work: a team mate to act as witness. Now we know how his last relationship ended…

  15. Guilie says:

    Love how matter-of-factly he tells all this. Nice six!

  16. Cherie Marks says:

    Very imaginative! Great six!

  17. J.A. Beard says:

    Now she knows never to remotely try to come between him and his job.

  18. Lynne Murray says:

    Definitely a decisive guy–when it’s over, it’s over.

  19. Zee Monodee says:

    Wow – this gives a totally new meaning to ‘being given the axe!’ Lol, wouldn’t want to mess with that guy, or his boss. Great six, girl (as usual!)

  20. Hahahahaha… though I do feel a little sorry for Alicia 😉

  21. “such a pretty head” – nice!

  22. Kristy Shen says:

    Very nicely written! I want to know more about this character!

    Your blog looks awesome! Count me in as a new follower! 🙂

  23. epbeaumont says:

    This story has really been growing on me; I like the weird combination of workaday anecdote and uncanny matter… well, demons have bad days at work just like the rest of us. Is this book available for sale? Your snippets have whetted my appetite.

  24. Pingback: Six Sentence Sunday January 29 « sassyspeaks

Aw come on say something....

