Favourite Character Blogfest


 

Laura Josephsen  is hosting a blogfest. I don’t usually participate in these but when I read about it on a friend’s blog,  I thought of my favourite character, smiled and started to put the blog together.

 

The blogfest runs from January 23-25.Here’s how it works:

1. Decide which of your characters you’d like to introduce everyone to, and choose a snippet about this character (preferably no more than 200 words) to share about this character. (A snippet from your manuscript would be awesome, but if you’re not comfortable with that, you can choose to do a character sketch–something to show us your character and writing.)

2. Between January 23-25, tell us who your favorite character you’ve written is and why and post your snippet.

3. Hop around to other participants to check out their favorite characters and a bit of their story.

 

This is Joey from my untitled WIP.

The stories start in the 50s. Six kids who seem so different yet stay in touch with each other their entire lives. What do these teenagers have in common?

The group meets weekly at10 a.m.on Saturday at Nate’s Deli.

Nate is the owner and a character in his own right. I had a hard time deciding on Joey or Nate for this blog. 😀

 

Why is he my favourite?  He changes more during his lifetime than any of the other characters and, as I write about him, I am always surprised by his complexity.

Joey is small and thin with a tough guy exterior, and when not at Nate’s, is prone to hang around with the wrong crowd. Every so often, when Joey doesn’t appear, he (Nate) overhears one of the kids, a different kid each time, it seemed, say that Joey was in jail, again. The rest of them would give up a deep sigh at the news and carry on. Nate wonders how he ends up in jail. The young man  seems like a nice kid and has himself observed  Joey’s many gestures of kindness toward other members of the group. He is never loud and his expressive way of speaking and exuberance is contagious to the others.

Each character starts with a glimpse into their home life and something about their activities.

 

As he was leaving the house to meet his friends at the bar, he glanced at his parents; his father scrawled and passed out on the recliner, his mother flopped on the couch, her hand hanging off the edge, drool spotting her chin, unconscious. Neither smiled.

 “Watch my beer. I’ll be right back,” Joey told the bartender. His thin frame ran through the dark bar and he sped out the front door.

“Hey Sue, here’s the quarter I owe you!”

He rolled the coin down the pavement to land at her feet not noticing the girl’s shocked look.

 

Now I’m off to read the other entries 😀

 

 

This entry was posted in Blogophilia. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Favourite Character Blogfest

  1. jennajaxon says:

    What a great idea! Can anyone play or did you have to sign up in advance?

  2. jennajaxon says:

    I’m intrigued by Joey as well. Not only am I wondering why he’s in jail so much, I’m wondering how he changes so much. And why. Great sketch, Sue.

  3. tara tyler says:

    Rough life for Joey to overcome on his own, sounds like a great story!

  4. I do love complex characters, and for them, the growth is always most amazing. Poor kid had a rough life.

  5. MPLanglinais says:

    This sounds like a great story; I’d love to read more!

  6. Julie Daines says:

    What a great idea and sounds fun to write! I’m intrigued!

  7. Rena says:

    Nice concept, sounds like it would be great to work on.

  8. I was a little confused… first para feels like he’s leaving a house (parents/recliner/couch), but the second para mentions a bartender/bar. Are these connected, or are they separate?

    Yes, I want to know more about Joey, too 🙂

    …and Sue on the sidewalk? Is she sitting there? Why?

  9. Angie says:

    Sounds like an intriguing guy. I love complex characters like that.

  10. Lindsay says:

    I’ve always thought that Joey was the most unique and intriguing of the characters

  11. K. Writerly says:

    I really like that, in this snippet, you showed us what Joey thinks about (his parents), and how he treats other people (the bartender and Sue). Even how he moves and the way he passes someone a quarter are so visual and vivid. So glad I caught this on the favorite character blogfest!

  12. Morgan says:

    That’s go great that you’re writing a lifespan story. It sounds tough, but you seem like you’ve got a good start, and some good characters (which is always important). Thanks for sharing, and good luck with the story!

  13. I agree with what someone else said before, that the more complex characters show the more growth. I have a soft spot for characters who had to deal with a lot of tough issues as kids. I’m very intrigued by Joey. Good luck with your story! It’s a very interesting concept.

  14. Kristy Shen says:

    Nicely written! I can tell this is a character-driven story and I would definitely read on 🙂

    Count me in as a new follower!

  15. Great choice for this! I love Joey! 😀

Aw come on say something....

