Six Sentence Sunday March 11


Yea! It’s Sunday and time for Six Sentence Sunday

Every week participants post six sentences from something they are writing – or have written. It’s a lot of fun and really a great way to meet new writers!

And I’ve met some terrific people. Thank you !

Be sure to check out the other great participants and thanks so much for stopping by.

 

We are still in the boarding house at the celebratory dinner to welcome the new century. Some of you expressed an interest in the other residents. They are there but do not enter predominantly into the story. This scene takes place before we meet Mr. Thomas.

 

The right love, the wrong time

 Kathryn looked around the table. She nodded to the two gentlemen who worked at the button factory. They kept to themselves so she didn’t know them well. Mr. Henderson, the third man, who had assised her by holding her chair, also worked at the factory and was the most social of the three men.

Of the other two, she was aware that one was Mr. Smyth, and one Mr. Jones, but she wasn’t sure which was which. Muriel, a seamstress, and the other female lodger said, “Good Evening,” and Kathryn smiled in reply.

This entry was posted in Fiction, Six Sentence, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Six Sentence Sunday March 11

  1. An interesting cast of characters. 🙂

  2. No wonder she’s so interested in Mr. Thomas! It seems like she wouldn’t have much in common with the other boarders. And don’t we all need that mysterious stranger in our lives? 🙂

  3. Heather Boyd says:

    Great six. An interesting cast.

  4. jennajaxon says:

    I’m now very interested in Mr. Smyth and Mr. Jones–sounds like aliases to me! I wonder how or if they play into Mr. Thomas’s profession! Great introduction to your cast of characters! Just enough to paint them well for us. 🙂

  5. nice intro into her fellow boarders!

  6. Gem Sivad says:

    Excellent introduction of characters and the setting is perfect!

  7. Zee Monodee says:

    Love how you place us into the scene and introduce the cast in the same swoop. Good job 🙂 XOXO

  8. Jennifer Lowery says:

    Wonderful intro into characters! Love the caption beneath the pic too 🙂 Great six!

  9. Cherie Marks says:

    I like the story-building. Great six!

  10. Great characters. Can’t wait to get into the action 🙂

  11. Cara Bristol says:

    Button factory…that’s an interesting job! Goes well with your story.

  12. Kate Warren says:

    Is one of them named Joseph? I couldn’t help thinking of that song from Kindergarten that goes “Hi. My name is Joe. I work in a button factory. One day my boss came up to me and said ‘Joe, are you busy? I said no.” Remember that one? I never could figure out why Joe didn’t get fired.

    Good six. I like the idea that Smyth and Jones are aliases. That would be fun.

  13. Gemma Parkes says:

    Yes, lovely introduction to your characters.

  14. KE Saxon says:

    I read last week’s to catch up (since I was AWOL last week), but then reread the first, too, just so I could really get into the story again before I read this week’s. I really like this story, I love the time period you’ve chosen and the cozy locale of this scene. So far, at least, there’s a bit of an O. Henry feel to it, which I truly enjoy. Great six!

  15. Vivien Dean says:

    Between the names and her inability to keep them straight, it’s pretty clear they aren’t major players, lol. Thanks for sharing!

  16. Lynne Murray says:

    It sounds like Mr. Thomas is going to shake things up a bit…but how? Suspenseful six!

  17. Ruthie Knox says:

    I love that “wasn’t sure which was which.” Such a typical confusion, but one I don’t know that I’ve seen in fiction. 🙂

  18. This is a fun story – well, what I have read of it is 😉

  19. Guilie says:

    Nice scene-setting, Sue–these characters have potential, and I hope you use them 🙂

Aw come on say something....

