Ryan for Blogophilia 3.5


You are cordially invited to read my poem; the first I’ve written in months. It’s dedicated to my young friend, Ryan.

From DeviantArt.com

 

My Beautiful Boy

my heart breaks

beautiful boy

once

 

but never again

I fear

 

your wings

gave you flight

but no more

 

now squashed like a bug

unable to soar

flattened into the ground

 

My heart cries

that you will never be

half of a happy couple

like the ones I see

 

I beg you

take your meds

stay with me

don’t lose yourself

in your ecstacy

and journey to despair

 

anger now fuels

your soul’s path

to destruction

 

higher than the aether

wrecking havoc

in the wake

to your soul

 

your soul

no longer pure

flittering away to

a hard cold core

like ice water castles

cold and impenetrable

 

I hope someday

you will allow others to help you mend

for, as the myth of Lady Godiva and her horse Aethenoth is myth

so it is myth that you

will heal and be restored

to my

 

once

 

beautiful boy

 

 

 

Written for

Blogophilia 3.5 Topic: “You are cordially invited”

Bonus Points:

(Hard, 2pts): Incorporate: ‘Ice Water Castles’

(Easy, 1pt): Include the name of Lady Godiva’s horse Aethenoth

This entry was posted in Blogophilia, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Ryan for Blogophilia 3.5

  1. trev says:

    wow… Ryan was a good friend I see…
    his struggle to get back to where he was is very evident in your beautiful words Sue…
    seeing his delicate side sliding into the abyss, watching from a distance feeling unable to help…
    knowing he alone holds the cure with himself but refusing to conform, as he is riddled with self doubt and frustration…

    such a powerful Poem Sue…

    a really moving experience…. beautifully written… xxx

    • Sue says:

      Thank you so much Trevor. Sad that it takes a negative situation to get me to write poetry again. He does have the power to help himself, but at the moment, he is too ill to do so.

  2. Brava well done Sassy, you should write Poetry more often, sending hugs to my friends at Blogophilia

  3. chuck says:

    That was more than a little intense – nice to see your muse return

  4. Feathered Pen says:

    Sometimes, it’s easier to bear our own pain than seeing others in pain. It’s just too difficult to stand it especially when they are that closed to us. And sometimes, writing it down is all we can do.The most intense emotions are best expressed in poetry and you expressed yours so well on this particular piece ((huggsss))

  5. Marvin Martian says:

    wow When your poetry muse opens up she really opens up! This is indeed intense and I could feel the heartache in your words. Ryan, come on lad, Find the real you that hides within!

    Okay now for the reason I am here. 8 points Earthling! 🙂

  6. Sad and beautiful! It’s posts like this that made me give you the kreative blogger award – go pick it up – http://joleenenaylor.wordpress.com/2012/03/14/kreative-award/

  7. This is so deep, so powerful…. speaks to my heart, for sure. It is sad to see someone so young, so talented, so precious immobilized by such a terrible disease. Beautiful but so haunting and heartfelt, Sue.
    HUGS
    Colleen

  8. Liam says:

    sorrowful beauty

  9. crazypjs says:

    Sadly wonderful…heart felt pain filled with hope.

  10. joaniethewriter says:

    I think the hardest thing to do is stand by and watch someone and not be able to help them. Sometimes they are the only one that can do that. My thoughts and prayers to you and your beautiful boy.

  11. Very nice, Sue. You have a gift for poetry 🙂

Aw come on say something....

