Books for Blogophilia 10.5


I like books. All kinds of books: devils, vampires, mysteries, straight fiction, gay fiction. I’ll read it as long as it’s well written.

When Kristen and I spoke this week, as usual the subject turned to books.  Our favourite topic after writing. I told her what I am reading and sacre bleu it’s on her TBR pile.

Kristen and I met through a writing group. When I noticed Room on her list, I knew I wanted to get to know her better and I’m pleased we have.

Room is a very controversial book that my book club rejected. Go figure.

Funnily enough I gave my Houston friend a thank you copy of the book. Lori  loved it.  The author lives in my neighbourhood too. No, I don’t see her at the supermarket…

 

The book I’m reading is of Air and Shadows by Michael Gruber. It’s not so much the subject matter of the volume that I’m enjoying, but the style which is narrative yet it flows and feels like he’s showing not telling.  I learned of this writer through my mystery class. Though this novel is not a mystery.

Shakespeare is mentioned in this book. An undiscovered manuscript of his is part of the plot. But the words “Whereat With Blade …” do not appear. The author skips from theme to theme, place to place, time to time so in that sense the fiction is transcendental in nature.

His name came up in class as he had been a ghost writer for a prolific mystery writer. After he stopped ghosting he went out on his own.  One of his works is The Witch’s Boy  It’s listed as a children’s book but I question that. I read the book, a creative re tell of fairly tales.

What have you read recently?

written for

Blogophilia week 10.5 – “Whereat With Blade …”

Bonus Points:

(Hard, 2pts): use a foreign expression

(Easy, 1pt): include transcendental in your blog

This entry was posted in Blogophilia, Books, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Books for Blogophilia 10.5

  1. Christopher Mitchell (Another Government Employee) says:

    The Man Who Left. An interesting memoir.

  2. Wow, you sure read some diverse books! They all sound so intriguing.

    Actually (and unfortunately) I have not been reading a lot of books lately as most of my books are packed away still. I did just start reading “The Help,” as my daughter got me the movie for Christmas & I’m kind of a stickler about reading books first. Good read, but I keep getting distractions & interruptions by life.

  3. Irene says:

    Those certainly sound interesting. The Witch’s Boy caught my attention. Right now I am reading The Strain trilogy.

  4. Dave Coon says:

    I haven’t sat down and read a book in years. I think it is time I did so! Quite a diverse interest in subjects you have!

  5. Marvin Martian says:

    Books! I like books! Read War of the Worlds three times! Never did like the ending… 8 points Earthling! 🙂

  6. trev says:

    I am similar to Dave … I too have not read a book in years… in fact you could say I am a book virgin … as I have not read a book ever.. not one I can remember anyway.. and before you say anything, there is nothing wrong with my memory…lol.. I have always been the one who can keep up with a book conversion as long as there was a film about it…lol…. this Group Bolophilia is the very first time I have ventured into posting my stuff in front of other writers.. you have no idea how nervous I was to start … but as you know their a great bunch of guys.. so I guess this is a confession kind of Sue… so gimmie a book title to read and I will go buy it and do my best read it .. how did I get onto this confession thing????… you have a lot of influence over me Sue… lol… great blog girl… loved it xxx

  7. Chuck says:

    Haven’t read much lately – did find some short stories that were part of the Amber series I had been unaware of and tried one of Clive Cusslers series. My taste run to sci-fi and mystery. Although a good econ book still gets my blood racing

  8. Liam says:

    good books are of the highest riches. great write..(reading) 🙂

  9. Just finished Sherlock Holmes vs dracula – it was fun. have a book by my friend Steve Evans to read next 😉

  10. How are you enjoying ‘The Book of Air & Shadows?’

    …and hey, if you enjoyed ‘Room’, maybe you’d like a few of the books on my ‘all time favourite list’?

    I know we talked about books in our TBR pile, but next time we should chat about our favourite books and compare notes 🙂

Aw come on say something....

