Ninth Annual BBQ for Blogophilia 20.5


Saturday we hosted our annual BBQ. It was one of the hottest days ever.Not counting last year it was the exception to the rule that we usually have good weather for the event. Though maybe now good weather will be the exception to the rule…

You can see how hot it was –even though we’ve had rain.

Before people arrived And the grass is the customary brown for this time of year.

The roses look dead

   

 

 

 

It looked like it was going to rain – remember last year? But a breeze shoved the clouds away and a cooler air mass rolled in so the evening was, dare I say it?, pleasant

I was a rude hostess –well not my friends for most part –you guys are here–and spent whole time talking to Susanna, the sister of a friend, who is also a writer. Her first language is Spanish.

She told me she has to name her characters very carefully because in Spanish one can tell a person’s economic class by their name. Her name is her mother’s name and father’s, she does not take her husband’s name. In fact I believe she said it’s not allowed….She’s from Columbia and just got refugee status last week (gonna get them coupons for poutine )

We were talking so long that at one point I had to get up and stretch. I also had to floss my teeth but I went indoors to do that 😀

For various reasons (people away, family issues, the heat) we had fewer people than usual only 18. So if anyone would like some left over bbq chicken…. (the lamb is all gone, sorry Trevor). One of the people who could not attend was a friend who’s a hospice nurse. Her father in law had died the other day.

People brought salads and Susanna’s husband, José, brought potatoes, but no one brought dessert! Well someone brought a whole watermelon probably the same person as last year. My friend Kay was supposed to come and she would have brought cookies….. but she didn’t feel well.

 And I would be horribly remiss if I did not include pics of the fabulous Julianna

A budding acress she told me

guess how old she is

What did y/all do this week end in the heat?

 

written for

Blogophilia week 20.5 – “Exception to the Rule”

Bonus Points:

(Hard, 2pts): Include an advice from Baz Luhrmann’s Everybody’s Free To Wear Sunscreen

(Easy, 1pt): Include a Hospice Nurse

This entry was posted in Blogophilia, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Ninth Annual BBQ for Blogophilia 20.5

  1. In my country your name will be the first given name, the first last name of your father and the first last name of your mother; that sets your families of origin as for the last name of a husband, women usually take the first last name of the husband…not my case, I never took the last name of my husband, I felt I was losing my identity but that was my choice.

  2. trev says:

    well I would have bought along a plate of Yorkshire Pudding for dessert Sue….
    it looks like you had a great party… I love a glass of Merlot of an evening too… a great party red!!
    is that fresh spinach with strawberries I see… it looks delicious… its a shame you have no lamp left… I believe its the best meat on the planet!!… its good the heat reduced a tad with the breeze… the heat is the one thing that’s missing here this year!!… don’t you think a sign of a good BBQ is the people talking well into the night?… it makes for a great relaxing evening…. I enjoyed reading about your annual BBQ… maybe next year I might pop over with a couple of sheep I know..*wink*.. lol…. and before I go… do I have to guess Julianna’s age?… the last time I got cornered into guessing a woman’s age I got into awful trouble…lol… but if I must … I guess her age would be around 29 years 4 months and 11 days… or there about’s!!… do I get a prize??…. ahaha… loved the read Sue… xxx

  3. trev says:

    just to clarify… I don’t eat lamp.. I find its far too shiny … ahahha… I meant lamb… lol xxx

  4. Chuck says:

    I cut up a bit more of the tree the storm knocked over – but mostly stayed home and inside. It was too hot even for the pool last weekend

  5. Christopher Mitchell (Another Government Employee) says:

    Stayed pretty much indoors. Heat and pollution induced asthma (I sound like a two pack day guy, right now).

  6. Jay Sole says:

    Your weather sounds a lot like Memphis….hot and dry! We finally got some rain this week, and a welcome covering of clouds! As for Julianna’s age, I think I would guess it to be around 29 years, 4 months and 11 days. 😉

  7. Irene says:

    It’s always the same people bringing the same thing to get-togethers. LOL As to Juliana’s age, I am thinking she’s in her mid 30s but looks younger.

  8. Looks like you had a wonderful feast! 😀

    I stayed indoors mainly, as we were in the midst of a 100 plus heat wave…plus recovering from foot surgery. I was still on crutches with that lovely sexy boot, haha. But hubby did take me out for dinner and I had a steak, even a glass of wine (which I hadn’t had in almost 2 weeks…rare for moi). I am going to guess that Julianna is 32 years old. She is gorgeous! 😉

  9. Jos says:

    Oh! I love BBQ parties! But it’s rainy season here now so I can’t grill outside really these days. I will take 10 years off of everybody’s guesses for Julianna’s age. She must be somewhere between 19 to 22. Fun read and there’s even the guessing game hehehe..

  10. Liam says:

    no dessert! oh that is normally the first thing a person thinks of… well the first thing i think of lol

  11. Marvin Martian says:

    Well here I am…late for the BBQ and late with a comment, oh life is hard! I do have something to say that no one else can, and that is: 8 points Earthling! 🙂

  12. sue says:

    Your words are always unique.

  13. looks like fun! I would guess her at around 19 🙂

  14. Sounds like your bbq went well and I’m sure everyone had a great time, even if you didn’t end up making the rounds and talking to everyone.

    …let’s see if I do any better on Aug. 19th 😉

Aw come on say something....

