Blue Eyed Daddy for Blogophilia 26.5


Long time dying’

fierce blue eyes, once

stubborn man

taught me all I know

 

eyes  clouded

ears can’t hear my voice

 in frustration, yells out

at the pain, in high pitched tone

 

No laughs  burst forth

breath too short

told me all the stories

of childhood and war

 

Long time dyin’

we’re all cryin’

 

comfortable he may be

living he ain’t

existence not his style

larger than life no more

 

family,  friends rally round

all dearly love you

tales told

they miss you now, as if you’re gone

 

Daddy, get me off this merry-go-round

of grief and despair

not knowing from one day to the next

when the final good-bye will be there

 

Long time dyin’

wrecked with pain

in  hospice bed lyin’

I will miss you daddy, go on home

 

***

for the prompts

Conquering the Labyrinth

Of death

Both from his space and my space

Most galaxies are numbered

Like M82

but Dad could never be

a mere  random numerical designation

 more like the rare Hydra, seldom sighted

But often with a cigar

***

Two examples of his digital art work (2007-2008)

Landscape

 

Music heard at home

 

Dedicated to my father

February 12 1914 –

written for

Blogophilia week 26.5 – “Conquering the Labrynth”

Bonus Points:

(Hard, 2pts): include three names of real life galaxies

(Easy, 1pt): mention Myspace

I corrected the spelling in my submission of labyrinth

And imagine my shock at finding the cigar galaxy

This entry was posted in Blogophilia, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Blue Eyed Daddy for Blogophilia 26.5

  1. trev says:

    *playing Beethoven’s 9th… full volume*….
    Your Dad will be proud of you!!… such feelings are very hard love!!
    *Muddy Waters now…. yes full volume*
    I’m here for you girl…. I love your dad’s Cuban Landscape….
    ((HUG)) … xxx

  2. I’ve been there. You wonder if and when. When it is over there are no more tears. Only relief.

  3. Feathered Pen says:

    ((Huggsss)) Sue. When my uncle was dying in the hospital before,he happened to be my guardian,so he was like a father to me, we knew there was no way he could recover,we just didn’t know when.But we couldn’t let the tube be removed on him.The wait was long and we were running out of funds and when he went away, we just felt he was on a better place. He probably so wanted to leave already but waited for everybody to be ready to accept his leaving. I agree with Chris above. ((Huggs))

  4. Dave Blue says:

    I have never held such feelings for my father. I envy you yours
    Beautiful pictures he created and powerful poem you have written!

  5. Chuck says:

    Peace – its been 4 years but I remember that pain still

  6. Marvin says:

    Wonderful tribute to your father. The grief and the relief cannot be imagined, only experienced.
    I felt yours in this write. Well done! 8 points Earthling! 🙂

  7. Steven Clark says:

    I know how hard this is for you, just know we’re all here for you. (((Sue)))

  8. J.A. Beard says:

    My thoughts are with you and your father.

  9. Sue says:

    thank you everyone 😀 I can feel the hugs

  10. Oh God, Sue….this brought me to tears. I have walked that path and even after 10 years it is still so terribly hard to have lost my Dad. Keeping you in my prayers, love and peace to you my friend!!!!! (((((HUGS))))

  11. bluerose says:

    Beautiful tribute. Beautiful poem. It was good talking to you today. Hang in there. Sending lots of hugs…

Aw come on say something....

