100W Finals


J.C. Martin, the Fighter Writer, is hosting the Oracle Olympics, in connection with her new book, ORACLE!

Oracle

For the final, the finalists have to write a 100-word story that starts with the prompt:

“The finish line beckoned…”

****

Long time Dyin’

The finish line beckoned. I lay in my hospice bed, my dear care-givers with me. The end summons, is almost in my grasp but my fingers cannot touch it. In my moments of lucidity, I remember my life, a good one, for the most part. Music gave me joy, until my ears deafened. My friends and brothers also until they left this earth. Regrets are few, save for the woman in France I left behind. My daughter is home, miles away, her spirit lies beside me. People call me impatient and now I yearn for the end of my voyage, longest trip of life.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Fiction, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 100W Finals

  1. Steven Clark says:

    The woman in France…wartime romance? You should work up some of his stories, would be a grand tribute.

  2. trev says:

    I agree with Steven …. and maybe your dads love of music and how it made him feel too ….
    I can only imagine what your going through Sue… ((hug)) xxx

  3. I really like this series you are dedicating/writing for your father 🙂 The emotions really come across clearly when you write from a state of *truth*, and (from my experience) are also important in helping organize your own thoughts/emotions, especially with difficult things like death/grief.

    Nice y done 🙂

  4. Mae Clair says:

    Sad and beautiful. What a lovely way to honor your father.

  5. bluerose says:

    I know, it’s so hard to watch someone you love suffer. I hope he finds peace soon.

  6. This is beautiful and heartbreaking. makes me think of my grandpa, though his was only a handful of months.

  7. Pingback: J.C. Martin, Fighter Writer - ORACLE Olympics: Aug 25th Highlights & the 100W Finals!!

  8. Pingback: J.C. Martin, Fighter Writer - ORACLE Olympics: Aug 28th Highlights

  9. Pingback: J.C. Martin, Fighter Writer - ORACLE Olympics: Aug 29th Highlights

Aw come on say something....

