Inuit Drabble for Blogophilia 28.5


This week is another drabble which is a short story in exactly 100 words.

The prompt is not included in the word count.

The prompt is the following quote from Hermann Hesse

Everything becomes a little different as soon as it is spoken out loud.

This quote is certainly true in Nunavut, the newest Norther territory in Canada. The language, Inuktitut, causes the southerner’s tongue to bend and twist in unnatural patterns. When we visited the area we actually met Kenojuak, the foremost Inuit graphic artist. and purchased one of her owl prints. I doubt they have tootsie roll pops in Cape Dorset, her home, but if so, you might enjoy the taste but the price would be prohibitive. Everything from milk to housing is extremely expensive. You would have to crack the code of the language for understanding and meaning. Qanuipit? how are you?

 

Photo taken by Susan Koenig

 

the enchanted owl 1960, art by Kenojuak

 

written for

Blogophilia week 28.5 – “Cracking the code”

Bonus Points:

(Hard, 2pts): include an owl and a tootsie roll pop

(Easy, 1pt): quote Hermann Hesse

This entry was posted in Blogophilia, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Inuit Drabble for Blogophilia 28.5

  1. trev says:

    I can’t even pronounce the name of this language Sue… let alone speak it girl…but it must have been a thrill to meet Kenojuak Sue… the size of Canada always comes up with populations that exist in a completely different way the rest of the world exits.. it has to be down to the remoteness of the places that makes life so different… quite an eye opener of a blog Sue… very informative indeed.. I loved it xxx

  2. Sue says:

    I must blog that trip some day I never have. Yes it was an amazing adventure

  3. crazypjs says:

    You have some interesting places up there…I’m with Trevor on this, I can’t pronounce it…

  4. Sue says:

    Most people can’t prononce themand I can’t pronounce the last word either but the dictionary tells me how.

  5. Carrie Crain says:

    Hey, that’s an owl. Are you on vacation? Where’s your six? Miss you!

  6. Is the language similar to Innuit (spoken in most parts of Alaska)? I have a brother in Fairbanks and he sent me some of their artifacts once.

  7. Feathered Pen says:

    Interesting info Sue!In my country, we have 12 Regional languages but 120 to 175 languages. But I didn’t bother to learn any of those other than the official main languages,Filipino and English. That owl print is amazing!

  8. Marvin says:

    Short, inpactive and informational all in one cool blog!
    8 points Earthling! 🙂

  9. Chuck says:

    Interesting artwork – does she make her own prints?

    • Sue says:

      no they’re all made by the print shop in Cape Dorset. She does the original artwork. If we had more money when we were there we could have bought one

  10. yes you should blog about that trip!

  11. J.A. Beard says:

    Definitely blog about the trip.

  12. That’s a super cool owl print!

    I like the modern stylizing of First Nations art. There’s a guy on Vancouver Island called Less-Lie or Les-Lie?? who does some amazing graphic work. There’s one with hummingbirds that’s my favourite 😉

  13. Dave says:

    This is one of the reasons why I like Blogphilia. I have been taken to many places around the world and seen so many sights through the eyes and words of others that I would never be able to visit or see on my own. It gives a good feeling to know that there is human creativity and a love for the arts all around the globe. Thank you for sharing a bit of your journey with us and I want more! 🙂

    blue fool

  14. I’ve always been fascinated by owls and am hoping that there are some living in the woods behind our home. Also loved that Herman Hesse quote, so very true. So cool that you are sharing your journey with us. I agree, blog more about it! 😉 HUGS

Aw come on say something....

