Before the Meeting


I really don’t know if Skye Warrens Unofficial Six is a go this week.

But I’m a creature of habit so here are my six sentences from my WIP The Soul Collector’s Second Chance.

Phoebe and Gideon have arrived at Myrth’s home where an important meeting is scheduled. She has owned the property for over a century which gives new meaning to “long term ownership”. The group must take action to find answers to their questions.

 

They drove onto the edge of Myrth’s land; the moon outlined the trees like a line of welcoming sentries, wrinkling up her nose, Phoebe said, “Even the air is different from the city, brighter somehow, and the silence more dense.”

 “Yes I suppose so, though I have never paid attention. I can smell your nervousness, and you have good reason for concern. In all honesty I have many questions as well; the decisions we make tonight will drastically affect all of us,” Gideon’s solemn face emphasized the seriousness of his words. 

“You are more human than you think,” Phoebe remarked as they rolled up in the driveway and parked.

She stepped out of the car and waited while Gideon grabbed their overnight case from the back seat, walking to the door, they entered the house. 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Fiction, Skye Warren, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Before the Meeting

  1. Jenna Jaxon says:

    Nicely atmospheric. The tension is there, not only in the characters but also in the landscape. Moonlight can be romantic and mysterious by turns. Love the set-up for the meeting–makes you definitely want more.

  2. Wow! love the feel of this. The description is alluring and makes me want more.. 🙂 Glad to see you back Sue and looking forward to more reads. 🙂

  3. susanroebuck says:

    Hi! That’s a very individual voice that Gideon has – I can just picture him. Well done.

  4. Gem Sivad says:

    Hi Sue. Tracked you down. What a scramble. @_@ I had to keep up with this story. Nice atmosphere and tension.

  5. Kate Warren says:

    Sounds potentially dangerous.

    I didn’t get Skye’s email until after I’d posted my entry. Since I didn’t know, I went with Weekend Writing Warriors instead. I figure I’ll either do WeWriWa every Sunday, and an extra unofficial 6SS on the first Sunday of the month, or U6SS the first and WeWriWa the other three.

  6. Ana says:

    Skye’s wasn’t official for today. She put up a new sign-up for a once-a-month event.

    I am glad you linked on my blog so I could find you.

    I agree that it does sound dangerous!

  7. Heather Boyd says:

    Intriguing. Cannot wait to see what happens next. 🙂

  8. Glad to see you’re still posting six a week 😉

  9. Sorry I’m late but so glad you’re back to posting snippets! Love this one for all the reasons already stated by folks who aren’t tardy like me! 😉

  10. epbeaumont says:

    Landscape and characters both–it’s a world. I feel as if I’m eavesdropping, and I want to know more.

Aw come on say something....

