Spouses’ Dinner for Blogophilia 1.6


photo by sue Koenig

photo by sue Koenig

The Soul Collector’s Second Chance is my WIP about a  group of four couples, consisting of four people who work as part of the mid-management team for the devil, Mr.D, as soul collectors, and their partners, who are human.

The following is a snippet of a scene when the human spouses get together for dinner. Their meetings are semi-regular and offer them a chance to vent about their partners.

****

Phoebe approached the patio moving her head from side to side searching for her friends.

“Over here,” Charles stood and  waved. She acknowledged him and also noted  the other three had already arrived, even Ryan who usually worked late at the pharmacy when Myrth wasn’t home. All the agents were at job sites this evening, hence the last-minute arrangement for dinner. Gideon had advised her, okay lectured, that it would be a good opportunity for her to get better acquainted with the other humans.

Sliding into the  last seat, she plopped her briefcase and purse on the ground, she had come directly from work, nodded hello to everyone, and thought what an ideal evening to dine outdoors with friends. Soon the weather would change and this luxury would no longer be an option. The breeze felt refreshing on her skin, the library had turned on the heat already; and the activity on the sidewalk: people strolling and laughing, the sounds of traffic and the other diners, the clinking of silverware, perked up her work weary mind. Her stomach growled as the smell of food wafted to her nose. She could barely hear the brass band playing in one of the pubs down the street.

Drinks sat in front of the others so she looked around for the waiter to catch up. She noticed that  the lacy doilies under each glass were each a different colour. Eve’s was pink (ewww), Ryan’s dark blue and Charles’ red. She wondered what colour hers would be (orange as it turned out).

During the evening Phoebe, the newest member of the group, asked how their spouses proved they worked for the devil. “I mean, really, when you meet a new man or woman, ask what they do for a living and they say ‘work for the devil’, it’s kinda unbelievable.”

The rest of the group gestured in agreement and chuckled.

Ryan wagged his finger. “We don’t call him the devil, he’s Mr.D., doesn’t sound quite so evil.”

Occasionally Phoebe became self-conscious in the presence of Eve’s beauty. But she allowed the thought to flitter out of her mind. Eve had confided her own insecurity issues and  Gideon had often enough  commented on  Phoebe’s attractiveness (most often in explicit language).

Eve had ordered another drink after her steak dinner and thoughtfully sipped it through the straw before she spoke. “The first time I encountered Victor, he had to leave the bar where we met early. Remember Charles? You drove me home.”

Charles nodded and grinned. Phoebe knew it was also the first night he met Beth.

Eve continued. ”And then a bit of time passed before we could re-connect. Finally we had an opportunity to spend the night together but at some point  he left. I had been sleeping and woke up to find him gone. A little later I heard him return and asked him right away where he went. I was still feeling pretty insecure. We were at his house. I don’t think I stepped foot in my condo once I met him until I went to move my stuff and sell it.

He suggested I put on my robe and come into the living room which I did with some trepidation. He pulled out a book from the case. Y’all have seen his numerous  really antique books,” the others nodded in affirmation, “and he flipped to a page and showed me a lithograph. A picture is worth 1000 words. He was trying to show me something rather than tell me, thinking it would be easier to understand. It looked like him standing in  Jesuit robes with a bunch of other priests. The drawing was dated 1843. What was I to assume? An ancestor of course. He adopted an expression of long suffering patience, studied his watch and said he would leave in an hour. Naturally I was totally confused and I thought I had lost my mind. I had no idea what was going on.”

“Yeah,” Phoebe said,  while she fiddled with the utensils pushing them back and forth, “when Gideon told me I thought he was mad, insane. But he’s so sexy that I couldn’t tear myself away.” In response to her remark the others laughed so loudly in understanding that the couple at the next table turned to stare.

Eve smiled. “He sat me on his lap to explain. He called me mon petite which is his nick name for me. I thought he was teasing until after he finished talking and I realised he was serious. He told me his watch, a beautiful old fashioned timepiece, with a long gold chain..” Phoebe interjected that Gideon had a similar one, “showed him when his next appointment was scheduled and his cell phone took him to the site. That’s how he knew when he would be leaving for work again. It’s not a 9-5 job he said and he was at a job site  when I woke up and found him gone.

“Damned inconvenient when they do that,” Charles agreed, spooning sugar into his coffee.

“Of course I still didn’t believe his story, but I let the issue go, come on get real.  Then he  took me to work – it was ‘ take your human to work day’ the following week.  I ended up outside a porto- potty of all things. Some guy had lit a cigarette and the darn thing exploded. Now that was a shitty experience! The victim was one of their clients and Victor sent his soul on to Mr.D.  Later, after I managed to get home, I questioned whether he had to clean it up. He roared laughing and hugged me.

“Non, mon chou, Mr.D employs a housekeeping division.”

Photo by Sue Koenig

Photo by Sue Koenig

written for

Blogophilia Week 1.6 Topic: A Picture is Worth 1000 Words         

 Bonus Points:

(Hard, 2pts): use lacy doilies in 2 different colors

(Easy, 1pt): include a brass band

This entry was posted in Blogophilia, Fiction, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Spouses’ Dinner for Blogophilia 1.6

  1. It’s not always fun and games to collect the souls.

  2. Jenna Jaxon says:

    “Take your human to work” week! I love it! Sounds like Mr. D has quite a sense of humor. LOL Sounds like the humans have adjusted well to their partners’ lifestyle. Nice insight into their lives.

  3. blue fool says:

    hehe! I really hope Eve wasn’t “Bombarded” with aftereffects! I enjoyed this segment of your work in progress! 🙂

  4. Chuck says:

    I think they should all take up bridge, same purpose I suppose but I always found cards have their own theraphy value.

  5. crazypjs says:

    I love it!! you have a way of bringing me right into the story! 🙂

  6. Marvin says:

    It is interesting to learn more about the human partners of Mr. D’s soul collectors! 8 points Earthling! 🙂

  7. Take your human to work day – ha ha!

  8. Doris Emmett says:

    Loved it! Never quite thought of referring to the Devil as Mr.D…sort of takes the sting out if it a bit…great story…made me smile!

  9. trev says:

    sorry I am so late here Sue…
    your description is again faultless indeed Sue…
    I love the way you guide me round the venue and then round the thoughts of them all eating and drinking…
    it has to be strange to learn that your lover/friend is indeed a soul collector and speaks of the devil, sorry Mr D, with a normalness that takes the breath away when first hearing of it all…
    you cracked me up when you mentioned “take your human to work day” ahahahha I thought that is such a lovely touch Sue….
    loved the read so much… quite brilliant… xxx

  10. DJS says:

    Great story…

    –Diana Jay

Aw come on say something....

