A is for Amulet


I’m always up for a challenge so I’ve signed up for the A-Z blogging challenge that takes place during the month of April. Each April bloggers write for 26 days (Sundays off). Each day is a consecutive letter of the alphabet.

Many bloggers post on a theme such as poetry, photography or an aspect of writing. When I scanned the blogs I’ve written over the last three years on various sites, it became clear my subject matter could fit nicely into this challenge.

Welcome to a tour of my blogs (and more)

You’ll find poetry, photoblogs, short stories and some general silliness. Most of my posts will be reblogged from earlier dates, with revisions. A few will be new  incorporating sections from my latest WIP.

Let’s begin! I hope it will be a fun ride!

Today is April 1st and I’m not fooling, we start with the letter A.

****

Myrth is a witch and a soul collector from my WIP A Soul Collector’s Second Chance. The soul collectors work for the devil, Mr.D., as part of the mid-management team. She is one of the six secondary characters, her partner, Ryan, is human and a pharmacist. They’ve been together ten years.

Myrth’s Amulet

This scene occurs at a dinner with the other three human partners when Ryan explains how, when they first met,  Myrth proved she worked for the devil.

“Well I’ve had the most experience with all this.” Ryan dipped his spoon into the soup to test for sufficient allotment of cheese. “I recognised Myrth was a witch right from the get-go, the questions she asked and her knowledge. I knew a fair bit about natural and old-time medicine so I usually could see where she was going with her questions. One night over dinner at my house she casually asked if I believed in hell and the devil.” He continued to speak between sips and dunking his bread in the onion soup “I wasn’t sure how to answer that. She said she worked for Mr D as a soul collector and I still said nothing. Finally to interrupt the silence I said, ‘Maybe you’re really a vampire.’ Myrth laughed, said they really did exist but she still wanted my answer. Of course I said prove it. She glanced at the amulet she wears and said in two hours her cell phone would ring and she would walk out the door and basically disappear.

“Of course that didn’t prove she works for the devil.  We had about finished dinner so I asked what she wanted to do before she had to leave.

“Later I pushed the blankets aside, sat up in bed and realised the two hours had passed. Myrth had changed into her black suit,  walked out the door and vanished. That was pretty convincing. Her amulet shows her schedule of appointed job sites but once the cell pings she is on the job.”

Ardently looking forward to your A posts 😀

This entry was posted in A-to-Z Challenge, Fiction, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A is for Amulet

  1. Elin Gregory says:

    *waves* That’s a nice post to start the challenge off with. 🙂 good luck with the rest.

  2. Tasha says:

    I like what they decided to do to fill in time and that’s a cool amulet 🙂

  3. The amulet in the photo is stunning. I like the role it plays in your story. 🙂

    My Writing Blog
    My Life Blog

  4. Sherrey Meyer says:

    I hate to be repetitive, but I agree with Misha’s comment on the beauty of the amulet. It is indeed stunning. Also enjoyed meeting your characters and learning a bit about the importance of the amulet in your story. 🙂

    Sherrey at Healing by Writing

  5. Jenna Jaxon says:

    Loved Myrth’s story! (Are all the soul collectors that horny?) LOL And the amulet is stunning! Can’t wait for the next 25 posts!

  6. Amanda P says:

    I love the start to the challenge and I can’t wait to stop back by to see what else you come up with!

  7. Good start to the challenge honey, good luck! 🙂

    xx

  8. trev says:

    I love reading about the soul collectors Sue…
    your description is riveting indeed …
    a brilliant read girl… can’t wait to read the others … its going to be quite a challenge Sue.. xxx

  9. Joe Owens says:

    I am looking forward to connecting with you during the challenge.

  10. VR Barkowski says:

    Terrific snippet, Sue, and what a beautiful amulet—not to mention functional. I could use an amulet that keeps my schedule.

    VR Barkowski

  11. Great A post, Sue! Minions of hell on cellular standby – very intriguing. 😉

Aw come on say something....

