B is for Blogophilia


Welcome to a tour of my blogs written for the A-Z challenge.

Today is April 2nd  Brought to you by the letter B

***

I participate in the weekly writing group Blogophilia.

Marvin the Martian is the moderator. No one knows exactly who he is..

Here’s how it works:

Each week we are given three prompts plus a picture for which we have to guess the secret phrase.  We get points for correct guessing as well as for including all the prompts in our post. I have no idea how many are in the group these days, most are regulars and some not so much. They each have their own writing style and one never knows what stories or poems their imaginative minds will create. They are a wonderful group, supportive and witty.

One of the prompts is s topic. For example today it’s A Splinter in the Mind’s Eye.

Plus we are given a hard bonus point prompt and an easy one (who decides the degree of difficulty is unknown. Probably Marvin)

Today they are

(Hard, 2 pts): incorporate a quote by one of the 3 characters from “The Andy Griffith Show” (Andy, Barney or Otis)

(Easy, 1 pt): include an unusual use for a Hula Hoop

So if I wasn’t using this for my challenge I would normally post a story or poem.

For example

The topic inspires me to write a poem. I might do a haiku.

Trouble thinking now

A splinter in the mind’s eye

Painful to compose

For the hard prompt this quote caught my fancy

Andy Taylor: When a man carries a gun all the time, the respect he thinks he’s getting might really be fear. So I don’t carry a gun because I don’t want the people of Mayberry to fear a gun. I’d rather they respect me.

It’s quite appropriate for what’s going on in the world today and I could do a serious piece on the subject – actually – splinter in mind’s eye could be incorporated, hmmm…..

The hula hoop brought to mind a witch’s circle for children. Don’t ask. Again this might be incorporated together with the topic and the hard prompt.

But since I don’t have to write a complete piece using all these prompts I get away easily today since all the information is here.

 ***

What kind of story could you write using these prompts?

Brightly anticipating your Blogs

This entry was posted in A-to-Z Challenge 2013, Blogophilia, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to B is for Blogophilia

  1. Tasha says:

    This sound like a fun group. As soon as I saw Hula Hoop I thought small potato snack and recipes 🙂 I had to look up Andy Griffith and Splinter of the Mind’s Eye brings back fond memories of Star Wars books so if I wrote fic it would have to be sci-fi.

  2. You are very naughty! Youre tempting me to join lol 😉

    xx

  3. susanroebuck says:

    Prompts are brilliant and just the kind of thing to get me writing. I like Andy Taylor’s quote.

  4. Interesting quote, you’re right fits today quit well. I’m drained can’t think — splinter in the brain. I like your decision, very creative!

  5. Thanks for sharing! Sounds like a fun writing group. Right now, I’m in revision mode, so I daren’t even try to think of creating anything new. 😉

    My Writing Blog
    My Life Blog

  6. Elin Gregory says:

    I like your made up quote. No idea who Andy wotsit is though.

  7. trev says:

    I see what your doing here now Sue…
    it took me a while.. but you know me.. if there are no sheep I’m stumped girl… lol…
    well I have to back you up here Sue.. Blogophilia is indeed a great group to belong too…
    it keep the Gray Matter working that’s for sure… lol.. xxx ..

  8. Tyler/Chuck says:

    I tried to follow the link you posted but kept getting errors, probably wouldn’t have time to do this right in any case…

  9. Jenna Jaxon says:

    Cool way to incorporate both challenges in one post, Sue. Can’t wait for the letter “C.”

  10. VR Barkowski says:

    The Blogophilia group sounds like great fun, and I love the example prompts, but my brain works far to slowly. I’d be left in the dust.

  11. That’s a great quote. Except for it being an all white world, we all wish that we lived in Mayberry.

  12. I love the name Blogophilia. When I used to write poetry, prompts often inspired me to go in new directions.

  13. I need to get back to Blogophilia! I miss it!

  14. Marvin says:

    Wow! This is absolutely Marvinolous! 🙂 That you for the promo for the group and i love the concept of A to Z challenges! Can’t wait to see what you write for the letter M!
    8 points Earthling! 🙂

  15. A very unique blog for the week, my friend! So cool that you are also encouraging some of your other writing friends to join us. The more the merrier! I have been with the group 6 years and I just love everyone & all the diversity. Your writes inspire me to try and write prose… It’s been a while since I have done that other than my Tommy blogs!! 😀

  16. Joe Owens says:

    I think i would be interested in Blogophilia, it sounds challenging.

  17. Pete Denton says:

    Great idea I like it. Happy A to Z’ing. 🙂

  18. blue fool says:

    Cool! I like this alphabet writing type challenge!

  19. Pingback: I is for Inuit | sassyspeaks

  20. Pingback: Sales pitch for Blogophilia 11.6 | sassyspeaks

Aw come on say something....

