D is for Drabble


Welcome to a tour of my blogs written for the A-Z challenge.

Today is April 4th   and I’m Delighted to be here.

Drabbles are stories told in exactly 100 words. Usually a prompt is given which is not included in the word count.. I’ve entered several Drabble challenges and have written a few for them and have become quite addicted to the format. This one was written for Blogophila (the letter B) earlier this year.

***

Google image

Fantasy

Over the Hill and Far Away  or so it seems from my perspective. The tree stoops, its leaves leisurely float soundlessly to the snow covered ground, like angels’ tears. Five bright blue horses calmly amble among  the branches, several bending to nibble the sweet grass, while others stand in place, hushed, as if waiting for the artist to paint their portrait. The contrast and allure:   blue animals, white snow and green plant,  together  with the  golden and cadmium red foliage, this idyllic scene that I gaze upon, wounds my soul.  I gravitate toward the vision. The image  must be real. Dreams are never this breath taking.

***

Have you ever written a Drabble?

 Dashing around to see what you’ve Dreamed up.

This entry was posted in A-to-Z Challenge, Fiction, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to D is for Drabble

  1. Nope. I’ve never written a drabble. Starting to think that my mind isn’t wired that way. 🙂

  2. Lee S Brooks says:

    Nice job. I know it is hard to hit EXACTLY 100 words. No, I didn’t check to see if you did, haha!
    I did not know this style of writing had an official name. I’m still in writers block mode. Work and life have been keeping me busy. I am in awe of the people that are writing for the a-z challenge and wish I could make time to read them all,

  3. Mae Clair says:

    I’ve never written a drabble but it seems like it would be a fun challenge. Beautiful imagery in this one. I especially love its leaves leisurely float soundlessly to the snow covered ground, like angels’ tears!

  4. Never written a drabble, and until today didn’t know there was such a thing! Thanks for a teaching me something new.

  5. Joe Owens says:

    Have you heard of Friday Fictioneers? It is a 100 word prompt based on a picture. You should try it the group is very supportive and fun.

  6. VR Barkowski says:

    I have not written drabble, but I enjoy reading it. Drabble is like an instant snapshot or a capture in words. It’s very different from long fiction where the story unfolds over time. Someday I’ll be brave enough to give drabble a try. Love your example!

  7. I have never written a drabble either, but I like the word!! Cute post!

  8. Jenna Jaxon says:

    Nope, no drabble for me. It’s hard enough to write a short story of 3,000 words, much less 100! More power to you!

  9. trev says:

    I love your description Sue…
    you drew a portrait in my minds eye with vivid realism …. amazingly
    I was going to play on your wonderful word Drabble …
    and say what a load of drivel… ahahah… but I won’t… ahahah…
    Loved it…
    I will have to have a go at a Drabble 100 worder…
    I bet it’s not as easy as it looks…
    I always thought 100 words would look a lot more than they do!!
    brilliant… looking forward to “E” now girl… xxx

  10. Love it! I’m not very good at drabbles 😉

  11. bluerose says:

    oh i remember this one… just loved the surreal imagry! i need to start writing drabbles again – so much fun. hopefully after i get moved.

Aw come on say something....

