I is for Inuit


Welcome to a tour of my blogs written for the A-Z challenge.

Today is April 10th   and the  Ironic letter I

And another drabble also written for B is for Blogophilia

The prompt is the following quote from Hermann Hesse

Everything becomes a little different as soon as it is spoken out loud.

This quote is certainly true in Nunavut, the newest Norther territory in Canada. The language, Inuktitut, causes the southerner’s tongue to bend and twist in unnatural patterns. When we visited the area we actually met Kenojuak, the foremost Inuit graphic artist. and purchased one of her owl prints. I doubt they have tootsie roll pops in Cape Dorset, her home, but if so, you might enjoy the taste but the price would be prohibitive. Everything from milk to housing is extremely expensive. You would have to crack the code of the language for understanding and meaning. Qanuipit? how are you?

Photo taken by Susan Koenig

the enchanted owl 1960, art by Kenojuak

What’s the furthest north you’ve ever ventured?

Informally searching for your posts

This entry was posted in A-to-Z Challenge 2013, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I is for Inuit

  1. I think the quad cities in Iowa are as far north as I’ve ever been. I went to a concert there my senior year of high school – Verve Pipe was the band. It was fun.

    great post!

  2. I love that owl print. It speaks of happiness. Born in the southern hemisphere, England is my home now and the furthest north I’ve been. Thanks for your visit.

  3. Mmm… I’m not sure about exactly where the cities are relative to each other. So the farthest north I went would either be Kent in the UK or Berlin, Germany.

  4. Mae Clair says:

    I love owls. I’ve also read a number of stories that draw on Inuit legend, including my favorite, THE TERROR by Dan Simmons. The farthest north I’ve ever been is Lake Tahoe and northern California. Would like to go back again someday!

  5. Jenny says:

    Interesting post and great pictures. Seattle is the farthest north I’ve been, but I hope to go farther one day!

    Have fun with A to Z!

    Jenny at Choice City Native

  6. Damyanti says:

    Love that enchanted owl!

  7. Enid says:

    Nice artwork! Furthest north? probably England…As South African, that’s pretty north for me 🙂
    A month of Blog…

  8. susanroebuck says:

    I adore owls (and otters!). Beautiful pictures, and how true that Hermann Hesse quote is. I can rehearse what I want to say for ages but it never ever comes out right 🙂 Furthest north? The Arctic Circle on an icebreaker.

  9. Sherrey Meyer says:

    I’ve been as far north as Victoria and Vancouver, and would love to go on. I love reading about the Inuit people. Have you read The Forest Lover by Susan Vreeland? Your post made me think of it. Here’s a link for more info. http://www.svreeland.com/forestlover.html

  10. Tizzy Potts says:

    Nice owl pictures. My family used to own some pet barn owls that we acquired from a wildlife sanctuary that was closing down. They’re beautiful creatures. I live in the East of England on the coast, and there is a distinct difference in accents and vocabulary between my area and London, in the north of the country. The furthest north I’ve been in the world is Lyon, France.

  11. Beautiful artwork! I’ve always wanted to visit Nunavut (okay maybe only since 1999) – great post!

  12. Great quote! My family roughed it in northwestern Quebec in a primitive cabin where we fished for a week and only saw a few other boats in the distance, but shared the Great Outdoors with way too many black flies and killer mosquitoes.

  13. VR Barkowski says:

    I love owls, love their look inscrutability. I lived in Seattle for years but the farthest north I travelled was Vancouver BC. I have been around most of the UK which I believe is a little further north.

    ~VR Barkowski

  14. trevor clower says:

    Well l know nowt when it comes to there sophistcated wordage Sue… Lol
    love the owl you pictured…
    You should have been in the picture too girl…
    Could have named it the Owl and the Pussycat. Lol..
    The furthest north on England is Glasgow but on Thursday 18 April l am off up into the highlands for a 5 day holiday…YAY!!.
    Great blog girl… Loved it xxx

Aw come on say something....

