For the love of sweets for Blogophilia 36.6


I am Memnoche, the demon. I love Halloween and always try to find some kids to tag along with for tick or treat. I love candy and it’s the only time of the year I can get any. You see, I live in Hell. No holidays, overtime, sick leave or sweets.

This year I lucked out. I found a group of four. Two boys and two girls. At first I thought they were related, sisters and brothers. But while their families are very close there are no blood ties involved. They said they were ten and complimented my costume. The girl with blonde-red hair, Quinn, asked if I was Stone’s cousin, Robert. But Stone, whose brown eyes seemed familiar to me, said no way his cousin could come up with such an excellent outfit.

The other boy, Kelly, with whiskey brown eyes and a puckish grin, asked how I got my hand in the shape of a triangle. I tried to wink my eye but with no eyelid, I just couldn’t manage it. The other girl, with hazel eyes, and golden brown hair, Vonny, looked at me and remarked on my height. I was shorter than any of them even Kelly who was pretty short for a ten year old boy. I wondered if he would always be the shortest one in the group and if it would cause problems in the future.

Stone wanted to know how, since my entire  body, like my hand, was triangular shaped and so much wider at the bottom of my mid section, why I didn’t waddle and in fact seemed quite fast moving.  I had no answer to his question. It’s  the way I am.

We visited a few houses and I got my fair share of treats. I had found a Halloween bag earlier in the hopes of actually going out later in the evening. My hand cramped due to reflex vibration from holding the handle so tightly in nervousness.

Some of the homes were quite interesting. At one place Zydeco music played through a loudspeaker so the whole street could hear it. Not especially appropriate for Halloween but we guessed they were French, and you know what they say about them. At another a bright red thanksgiving cactus bloomed in a clay pot on the porch. I even knew the correct name of the flower  zygocactus truncates.

While  the people at the doors thought the others were adorable,  when they noticed me they averted their eyes,  threw their stuff in my bag and banged the door shut. I didn’t take offense.  I still got the sweets.

The kids were adorable I agree.

Stone dressed in a Victorian suit. Vonny as a nun, including habit. Quinn in a 50s outfit with bobby sox and poodle skirt and Kelly as a wizard.in a long purple velvet caftan.

Finally after about an hour and a half, we came to a little house on a quiet street. Stone said it was his house and they were going to have a party now. The children invited me to stay. Stone had his father’s manners. Yes I had worked with Stone’s dad over a century ago but hadn’t had anything to do with him, certainly not in the last dozen years since he changed, was  granted mortality, and not before then either due to changes in technology rendering messenger imps redundant.

A man opened the door. A man I knew long ago. Stone’s father.

“Memnoche is that you? What are you doing with the kids? Scram!”

“Can I keep my candy?”

**

written for
Blogophilia Week 36.6 – Sisters and Brothers
Bonus Points:
(Hard, 2 pts): Incorporate a reflex vibration
(Easy, 1 pt):  Use a word beginning with “zy”
This entry was posted in Blogophilia, Fiction, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to For the love of sweets for Blogophilia 36.6

  1. Chuck/Tyler (you choose) says:

    demon with a sweet tooth – had never imagine such a thing. Kudos

  2. Irene says:

    Even demons get a sweet tooth!

  3. In Hell, they think of everything. Puritans have nothing on them.

  4. Marvin says:

    Sniff…no one ever dresses up as Marvin…oh well at least Memnoche has his treats! 8 zynot points Earthling! 🙂

  5. trev says:

    I love the twist at the end Sue… very clever!!.. 🙂 ..
    I love the way you unfold the story by telling me about the 4 new characters along with a thread of curiosity with Stone, extra to the other three kids..
    How Memnoche tried to fit in, but put up with the grown ups reaction to him, so as to fill his treats bag with sweets.. determined if nothing else… **the little devil**… 🙂
    Then right at the end you reveal Memnoche’s relationship with Stones dad just before he was born… how his dad was free and granted mortality as a redundant imp!
    But with all that, I was still shocked at Stones dads, almost vicious, outburst.. after so many years the hatred was still there!
    It seems still waters run deep even it the underbelly of hell…
    I loved reading this Sue.. you have infused so much in such a short piece… absolutely brilliant… 🙂 xxx..

    • Sue says:

      Actually the demon and Gids don’t hate each other but he didn’t want him with the kids And it made for a good ending which was my vision in the first place

  6. Myke Todd says:

    Oh, to be shooed away at Halloween… how sad for the little… well, whatever he was.
    Now I will be wary of anyone I see on 11-31, who displays a triangle butt.

  7. thejissilly says:

    I wonder what kind of candy Demons like best. They strike me as the Bit O Honey sort of creatures.

  8. Aussa Lorens says:

    Ha, very clever. Makes me feel devilish.

  9. Haha, cute 🙂 Like the costume choices, but I think I would have liked it placed a little earlier.

  10. Aha! now I know how Gid’s story will end :p I was suspicious when he recognized the eyes 😉

    this line made me laugh out loud – “..Not especially appropriate for Halloween but we guessed they were French, and you know what they say about them..”

  11. BarbaraK aka fiddlbarb says:

    I love where the theme and prompts took you. Sparked lots of my own fond memories of Halloween. Thanks for that. Wonderful Blogophilia 36.6!

  12. Sue says:

    Have a good night!

  13. What a fun story…. I love Memnoche’s intricate descriptions of the surroundings as he goes trick or treating! And the ending is perfect…. but he’d better eat that candy before he goes back to hell, lol!!! 😀

  14. Doris Emmett says:

    Wonderful story…love how you worked the descriptions in and the fact that the candy was so important to him…thoroughly enjoyed!

  15. jabeardrf says:

    It’s been a long time since I’ve seen the word zydeco. 🙂

Aw come on say something....

