The Old Man for Blogophilia 48.6


Artist Sandra Andrijasevic Baraci

I struggle into the wheelchair for our daily constitutional down the hallway. My care-giver,  Rosemary,  wraps a blanket around me.   I loathe the helplessness. I barely feel Alive.  The living room is dark as if night had fallen but it’s only three in the afternoon. We haven’t seen any rain in a while. The wind hoots owl-like. As she rolls me through the corridor I smell Fiddleheads emanating from another apartment. I used to love rich foods and wine but now I look at my dinner, a mish-mash of colourless pap, take two bites and push the plate away.

***

Today Rosemary found my blue jacket. Before we leave she hands me a cup of thyme tea. “It’s good for you. Drink it all then I have a surprise for you.” We ride the elevator to the ground level, but we don’t come close to the outside door. It’s an Adventure I exclaim!

***

Sunshine illuminates the room. My aid dresses me in a heavy sweater. Where is she taking me? She sets my chair on the patio. I smile.

 ***
 
Written for
Blogophilia Week 48.6 Topic: Have You Ever Seen the Rain?
Bonus Points:
(Hard, 2 points) Use the name of two magazines *
(Easy, 1 point) Incorporate rosemary and thyme
* http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Canadian_magazines
 
This entry was posted in Blogophilia, Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Old Man for Blogophilia 48.6

  1. Steven Clark says:

    I could feel her depression and helplessness, and immense joy at such a simple thing as sitting in the sun for a change. Well done.

  2. trev says:

    very stark reality indeed Sue…
    it brings home the helplessness being trapped inside a frail body…
    at the mercy of someone else’s will… not matter how good intentioned they may be…
    it shows how the situation makes one lower their sites when looking for pleasure…
    the excitement of being on the terrace is truly a goal in one’s existence…
    beautifully written… with a soft sensitivity rich in feeling… and a sadness…
    I can only hope she has had a good life before the frailty of her body overtook her…
    the thought terrifies me… if she has lived like this all her life..
    and the terrace is a life time achievement for her… a hard read for me Sue… very hard xxx

  3. Marvin says:

    A lifetime of living reduced to the joy of sitting on the patio, perhaps for the last time. Such a poignant feeling this gave me. 8 points Earthling! 🙂

  4. Tyler/Chuck says:

    I have a sister-in-law named Rosemary who is a nurse. She used to tell this kind of story from work, it always felt worse than the ones from the ER.

  5. love this, though I imagined the “I” as a man for some reason :p

  6. Haunting, introspective piece. Really takes the reader to the heart of a lonely existence. Definitely reinforces my mantra of live life to the fullest! Well done, Sue!

  7. Irene says:

    Well done, SassySue!

  8. J.A. Beard says:

    Good emotional texture

  9. Nice character sketch, and in such a short number of words. Efficient + effective.

  10. BarbaraK aka fiddlbarb says:

    Feeling every eloquent word as I read. Poignant and beautiful.

  11. Amazing piece of writing, Sue! My thoughts were zooming as I read it, forming and reforming with each line, it seemed. And this is full of hope, sorrow, more hope, and finally, happiness. Nicely done!

  12. Myke Todd says:

    This hits just a little too close to home for me, Sue… It is almost too real.

    Wonderful writing, though. Let’s leave it at that.

Aw come on say something....

