The Swim for Blogophilia 3.7


photo by author

photo by author

All that water, lovely, lovely wetness.  The sun’s shimmer twinkles on the calm surface.   I swished through the water relaxed and at peace.

Mamma warned me not to swim in this spot but it’s such an idyllic day and I like it here.

I lay on my back, face to the sky; the only sound the gulls screeching overhead.

Life at home is  good but when I asked why I oughtn’t visit this area,  the family shuffled uncomfortably  and glanced  at each other out of the corner of their eyes. They weren’t telling me something. They were hiding something.

“You’re too young. We just wish to protect you. Listen to your elders and trust us.”

Well I did trust them but I wanted to get away. I needed a change of scene.

Though my family didn’t tell me, I had heard the rumours  but those kinds of secrets don’t remain concealed  for long. The tales of humans who were out to hunt us and put us in a zoo, whatever a zoo is. All I know is that it wasn’t a good thing.

We had always been here and except for some fantasy romance writers with huge imaginations no one suspects that we  exist. It has always been so.

The presence of a raft surprises me.  I swim fast and am again alone.

A while later the water ripples against me. The craft  returned  and now I heard the slap-slap of the waves around its perimeter. I could smell the two humans aboard, their scent making me ill with a sour taste on my tongue.

“I told you I saw something over there,” shouted one of them.

“Yep,” the other concurred.

I think they’re after me. I should have listened to the elders.

I prepare to submerge,  to go home, my tail swishing as fast as it could.

One of them threw something in my direction. It hit me and  sizzled.

Suddenly paralysis overtook me.

Captured.

***

Written for
Blogophilia Week 3.7 Topic: Road Trip
 Bonus Points:
 (Hard, 2 points) Quote John Milton
 (Easy, 1 point) Include a lemon flavor
*road trip – wanted to see new sights
* “Solitude sometimes is best society.”
* sour taste
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Blogophilia, Fiction, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Swim for Blogophilia 3.7

  1. Danger around every corner. I could hear my mother’s warnings in the writing. Excellent.

  2. Marvin says:

    Never could trust a human to leave that which lives in the oceans, alone! So sad 8 points Earthling! 🙂

  3. trev says:

    you leave it to the reader to decide what the creature is…. I like that a lot Sue!
    its true we (the humans) are a stupid species always wanting to build a cage around everything that is free and intrinsically perfect in its own environment .. at what end I ask?
    A brilliant story with just the right amount of information to send one’s thoughts into the debate as to why we do such things… BTW… my mum always said I talk too much… did I listen?.. nope 🙂 xxx

  4. This brings back lovely memories from my times at the beach. Great work with your write.

  5. Tyler/Chuck says:

    I was never very good at listen to advice from my elders either

  6. Beautiful, Sue! And sad. Why is it we humans insist on possessing nature? Thanks for sharing, and thanks for visiting my blog earlier–so glad to connect again after the demise of SSS 🙂
    Guilie @ Quiet Laughter

  7. jabeardrf says:

    I like the transition in atmosphere and tone.

  8. Haha, love the twist! Great job, Sue.

  9. BarbaraK aka fiddlbarb says:

    I love how you put yourself in the Captured’s place. As though right there myself as I read. So very talented.

  10. BarbaraK aka fiddlbarb says:

    And amazing photo too. I love it!

  11. Josh says:

    Nice twist on it 🙂 Sometimes the best part about these prompts is just seeing how many different directions everyone takes them in …. trying to do them, AND fit in the blogophillia stuff is damn impressive.

  12. Steven Clark says:

    Very intriguing, hope there is more to come.

  13. irene says:

    Love it! Intriguing write.

  14. VR Barkowski says:

    Excellent, Sue. How do I know? Because when I read the word Captured, my brain and heart both screamed NO! Well done. Gorgeous photograph, too. Where was it taken?

    VR Barkowski

  15. Nice write! 🙂

    ~~DJ

  16. Wow…. I could almost hear the sound of those waves and feel that sun on my face…. Then you yanked us down into the depths. Youth defies the sage advice of elders, isn’t that the way it always happens? Fabulous ending, though sad! Great job on the prompts this week. 🙂

  17. People can be truly terrible!

Aw come on say something....

