Excitement


flash fiction! I couldn’t resist

but I can’t figure out how to get the badge in here.

 

 

 

Anyway

 

Answer the question – Whatโ€™s so amazing that keeps us stargazing?

in 42 words exactly

 

Mostly we live mundane lives, free of excitement so we vicariously experience what our world lacks by looking to the stars: music stars, movie stars, media stars .It matters not. Envy motivated we reach out to the infamous. We watch and dream.

 

(thank you for telling me about the badge – I did not know)

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Excitement

  1. Stacie says:

    Nice take on the “stars!” The badge code (underneath the badge on the left sidebar) must be pasted in to the text tab, not the visual tab. Then when you go back to the visual tab, the badge will show up. Did you try that? If you want it there and still have trouble, feel free to email me: stacie@yeahwrite.me

  2. jenbrunett says:

    This was a clever one, i like it!

    As far as the badge. When you write a post in wordpress you probably noticed there are two tabs in the right hand side. One is text and one is view. You have to copy the badge link, click on the “text” tab and paste it in there, It should work that way. Hopefully! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. jannatwrites says:

    Ah, celebrity envy… I wish that didn’t exist!

  4. Jenna Jaxon says:

    Very cool 42 words. I also like your take on “stargazing,” and it’s so true. Some people’s world revolve around those “stars.” Great piece!

  5. Kay says:

    Great interpretation of stars and stargazing in a way that’s far removed from the realm of the natural world and the vastness of the universe.

  6. Suzanne says:

    Like everyone else, I love your take on the stars. I particularly loved this bit: “we reach out to the infamous” โ€“ wonderfully done! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. djmatticus says:

    Great twist on the prompt. I hadn’t even thought of it like that. Well done. (And glad you got some help on the badge.)

  8. Larks says:

    Ooooh… you’re the only one of these I read that has this take on “stars.” Very cool observations on the hollowness of it.

  9. Interesting use of the prompt!

  10. theinnerzone says:

    It’s a very unique take! Like it very much.

  11. Natalie DeYoung says:

    So true. That’s why we keep dreaming.

  12. Marcy says:

    I like your take on the prompt.

  13. Christine says:

    “Envy motivated” – isn’t that the truth! Really great take on the prompt. I like that you went the social commentary route. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for posting for our first-ever gargleblaster! (Technically you’ve still got the wrong badge up there, by the way, but no worries – I’ll post clearer instructions next time. Hope you’ll be joining us again!)

    • Sue says:

      still the wrong one *slaps my head* it matters not – it was great fun and you’re a great bunch

      • Christine says:

        ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m glad you had fun! I have to admit, by the time I got around to submitting my own entry I had to triple-check to make sure I got the right badge, even after I published it. In fact, I may need to check once more right now…

  14. tnkerr says:

    I much enjoyed your “stars of a different color”. Don’t stray too far outside the box though. It makes it hard to hear you.
    Well done!

  15. tinsenpup says:

    Nice one! I love your original perspective on the prompt.

  16. Sam Merel says:

    Something about the starts always makes me want to watch and dream too…

  17. Ohhh, very nice, Sue!

Aw come on say something....

