Screen writing I for Blogophilia 8.6


My O post for the A-Z Challenge is here

****

Google Image

 

The instructor, a man in his thirties, short brown hair with a sling around his left arm greeted each student and checked the attendance list for the first class in Screen Writing.

The desks were arranged in a horseshoe, the classroom located in a mall in downtown London was over heated while fourteen people anxiously waited to learn if the class in screen wiring would be worth the fee.

The fellow in the wheelchair asked what happened to the instructor’s arm. “It was an accident on a film shoot. I was playing the villain and it didn’t go as planned.”

The instructor, Jordan, is a script writer, set designer and sometime actor.

Notes:

Avatar is the most successful film of all time

it’s all about the re-write

In his power point presentation he discussed the importance of script writing format

story basics worksheet

lots of paper

logline and synopsis templates

goal as a screenwriter is to elicit an emotional response in your audience – same as in a book

what is meant by story

Practical in class exercise:

Write out a single short descriptive paragraph detailing a “contained concept” for a screen play that is set in this room or features something in this room the people in hee now or is in some way connected to this course or the act of taking this course

We ended up with aliens (from Bob the alien lover) zombies, swat team, kidnaping etc. The woman next to me wrote that the instructor was the leader of a cult and was out to convert us.

Mike wrote that a man wearing a long white beard ran into the room wearing a straitjacket and commenced to scream, rant and bang his head against the wall.

The woman across from me wrote that Mike was wearing a kilt that couldn’t be seen when seated at the desk and he suddenly rose, reached under the table for a bagpipe, put it to his lips and started to play the instrument.

Another woman wrote that a psychedelic beetle bug circa 1960s smashed through the wall and rolled into the middle of the room.

Imaginative group eh?

We also had to jot down 12 subjects for a screenplay, 12 objects, 12 events and arrange top 3 combinations. We had a minute for each. No I did not get all 12.

My main problem so far is that I have to plot before I know what I am writing about and I hate plotting. Usually I don’t plot until I must.

The homework from the class takes me all week to complete.

It’s going to take 10,000 pokes from the instructor before the mystery of script writing will settle comfortably in my brain. But I will say one thing, since March 21 I look at movies totally differently.

No Tuesday morning blues but Thursday evening highs when I attend class to learn the mysteries of film making.

 

written for:

Blogophilia Week 8.6 Topic: Tuesday Morning Blues

Bonus Points:

(Hard, 2 pts): include a kilt-wearing bearded man

(Easy, 1 pt): mention 10,000 pokes

This entry was posted in Blogophilia, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Screen writing I for Blogophilia 8.6

  1. I can’t quite think that fast.

    I don’t mind plotting. It gives me an outline to work with and my characters can play in.

    • Sue says:

      I couldn’t quite think that fast either. Don’t know if anyone got 12 of all the categories. I’m a panster I just write then plot.

  2. Tyler/Chuck says:

    I am much more comfortable creating character or setting than actual forward movinng action, so i feel your pain on that one

  3. Sounds like a truly fascinating, challenging class! I always found plotting to be the most difficult element of writing. That’s probably why I stick to poetry primarily! 😉

  4. Marvin says:

    Gladly, I do not have to worry about that, somebody wrote me in and here I am! 8 points Earthling! 🙂

  5. It sounds fun but challenging! I am sure you’ll get your head wrapped around it soon 🙂

  6. Blue fool says:

    This must be a very interesting class! I do not plot, I just follow the words as they come out, wherever they take me.

  7. trev says:

    Fascinating Sue… it sounds very demanding having to keep to a structure!
    dreaming up 12 of everything and them form 3 combinations under pressure like that sounds gulling girl… maybe it was designed to make you think in small chunks and then let go… leaving the bits on the table to marry up… like a jigsaw almost… not sure I could do that either Sue!
    let me know how the course progresses love.. it looks interesting in so much that its different..
    BTW its great reading you A-Z’s girl… xxx

  8. Mae Clair says:

    What a cool post! I loved getting a glimpse of your screen writing class. That is definitely an imaginative group. It must be a lot of fun!

  9. Diana J. says:

    Great post. I can’t seem to log into WP today

    Diana J

  10. Wow, this sounds great honey! 🙂

    Xx

  11. Pingback: Screen writing Class II | sassyspeaks

Aw come on say something....